top of page
Albanie-Gjirokastra

ALBANIA

"To run after time is to flutter to grasp the unspeakable."

Kheira Chakgold

Due to the validity of some documents related to Lucky, we have to cross Albania in just 1 week. However, this did not prevent us from noticing the kindness of the Albanians. To our great regret, we were not able to discover the mountainous and wilder part of the country which, it seems, is magnificent. 

 

Traveling around the country, we are surprised by the lack of reflection in terms of Urbanism. Towns or villages never seem to end and it is not easy to know where they begin. It is also surprising to see how much wealth rubs shoulders with poverty. It is not uncommon to see “luxury” hotels built directly next to slums. We see very quickly that this country is not yet developed for tourism.

Vanlife voyage

The Happy Westys

One day, in Himarë, we are parked in a small car park by the sea while a torrential rain is falling. Next to us, a small, easily recognizable mustard yellow VW T2 is parked. As the rain subsides, we decide to get out of the van to enjoy an incredible view of a full double rainbow. That's when we came face to face with the Happy Westys, Guillaume and Laura, who greeted us with big waves of the hand as if we had known each other forever. As a good Swiss, this surprises us somewhat, but their good humor and jovial character immediately make us want to know them.

 

We exchange two words and we are not long in inviting them to drink tea with us, because the cold is felt. The current passes very quickly and the tea turns into supper. The next morning, we are sad to see them leave so quickly.

 

They are doing pretty much the same route as us. Chance will therefore make us meet again in Greece and then in Bulgaria and will allow us to spend more time together.

There are clearly some favorite encounters while traveling and the one with the Happy Westys is very clearly one of them.

Stop for a moment

The weather in Albania isn't great, but in the end it's not that bad. We take this opportunity to land and breathe. It is also an opportunity to appreciate the framework in which we are.  Between two showers, we will walk in particular in the region of Vlora and enjoy the view of the sea and discover some of the many bunkers built along the coast.

Albanie
Albania.girokaster.009.jpg

Gjirokaster

Gjirokastër is in the Drin Valley. This city has a beautiful historic center and a magnificent fortified citadel overlooking it. 

 

The citadel, fortified in the 5th century, then reinforced by the Ottomans in the 12th century, is truly superb and offers a magnificent view of the city, the valley and the surrounding mountains.

 

The historic center is a fine example of Ottoman vernacular constructions from the 17th century. There are beautiful two-storey buildings with, on the ground floor, shops with their beautiful wooden windows and, upstairs, homes. The set is really well preserved, a little too well perhaps, which gives it a very artificial side. It is a real pleasure to stroll there even if you quickly realize that the life of the city does not take place between these walls, but in the more contemporary and less well maintained districts which are lower down.

bottom of page

top of page
Albanie-Gjirokastra

ALBANIE

“Courir après le temps, c'est papillonner pour saisir l'indicible.”

Kheira Chakor

En raison de la validité de certains documents liés à Lucky, nous devons traverser l’Albanie en seulement 1 semaine. Cela ne nous a néanmoins pas empêchés de remarquer la gentillesse des Albanais. À notre plus grand regret, nous n’avons pas pu découvrir la partie montagneuse et plus sauvage du pays qui, paraît-il, est magnifique. 

 

En parcourant le pays, nous sommes surpris par le manque de réflexion en termes d’Urbanisme. Les villes ou les villages ne se semblent jamais se terminer et il n’est pas facile de savoir où ils commencent. Il est également surprenant de constater à quel point la richesse côtoie la pauvreté. Il n’est pas rare de voir des hôtels de « luxe » construit directement à côté de bidonvilles. Nous constatons très vite que ce pays n’est pas encore développé pour le tourisme.

Vanlife voyage

Les Happy Westy

Un jour, à Himarë, nous sommes parqué sur un petit parking en bord de mer alors qu’une pluie torrentielle est en train de tomber. A Côté de nous, un petit VW T2 jaune moutarde, facilement reconnaissable, est parqué. Au moment où la pluie se calme, nous décidons de sortir du van pour profiter d’une vue incroyable sur un double arc-en-ciel complet. C’est à ce moment-là que nous tombons nez à nez avec les Happy Westy, Guillaume et Laura, qui nous saluent par de grands signes de la main comme si nous nous connaissions depuis toujours. En bon suisse, cela nous surprend quelque peu, mais leur bonne humeur et leur caractère jovial nous donnent tout de suite envie de les connaître.

 

Nous échangeons deux mots et nous ne tardons pas à les inviter à boire un thé chez nous, car le froid se fait ressentir. Le courant passe très vite et le thé se transforme en souper. Le lendemain matin, nous sommes tristes de les voir repartir si vite.

 

Ils font un peu près le même itinéraire que nous. Le hasard nous fera donc nous recroiser en Grèce puis en Bulgarie et nous permettra de passer plus de temps ensemble.

Il y a clairement des rencontres coups de coeur en voyage et celle avec les Happy Westy en fait très clairement partie.

S’arrêter un instant

La météo en Albanie n’est pas au rendez-vous, mais au final ce n’est pas si grave. Nous en profitons pour nous poser et pour souffler. C’est également l’occasion d’apprécier le cadre dans lequel nous sommes.  Entre deux averses, nous allons nous balader notamment dans la région de Vlora et profitons de la vue sur la mer et faisons la découverte de quelques-uns des nombreux bunkers construits le long de la côte.

Albanie
Albania.girokaster.009.jpg

Gjirokastër

Gjirokastër se trouve dans la vallée du Drin. Cette ville dispose d’un beau centre historique et d’une magnifique citadelle fortifiée qui la surplombe. 

 

La citadelle, fortifiée au Ve siècle, puis renforcée par les ottomans au XIIe siècle, est vraiment superbe et offre une magnifique vue sur la ville, la vallée et les montagnes qui les entourent.

 

Le centre historique est, lui, un bel exemple des constructions vernaculaires ottomanes du XVIIe. On y trouve de beaux bâtiments à deux étages avec, au rez-de-chaussée, des commerces avec leurs belles vitrines en bois et, à l’étage, les habitations. L’ensemble est vraiment bien conservé, un peu trop bien peut-être, ce qui lui donne un côté très artificiel. C’est un vrai plaisir d’y déambuler même si on se rend très vite compte que la vie de la ville n’a pas lieu entre ces murs, mais dans les quartiers plus contemporains et moins bien entretenus qui se trouvent plus bas.

bottom of page