top of page
Z62_2009.jpg

ARMENIA

"Seeing the world with your own eyes is a thousand times better than any dream."

Ray Bradbury

This destination makes us discover new landscapes and new horizons all very different from everything we have been able to discover so far.

Z62_1945.jpg
Z62_1945.jpg

Lake Sevan

The moment time waited for Sevan, see its namesake lake. Upon our arrival on the shores of Lake Sevan, we head towards a spot where we find JB (Jean-Baptiste) and Oli.

 

A track leads us to this beautiful little beach located right next to the Sevan National Park. This will be our spot for the next three nights.

Sevanavank

Sevanavank Church is probably the most visited site on the shores of Lake Sevan. After a few minutes of walking and after climbing a few flights of stairs, we finally discover the site which is made up of two very beautiful churches located on a hill overlooking the lake. These two buildings radiate a beautiful energy and the site offers breathtaking views of the surrounding landscapes.

Z62_1990.jpg
photo numéro 2.jpg

Yotnaghbyur Volcano

Near the village of Tsovazard, we go to a volcano, Yotnaghbyur. The hike is quick, 2 hours round trip and we are entitled to a beautiful view of Lake Sevan and other volcanoes around.

Mount Aragats

We go to Mount Aragats National Park to climb one of the 4 peaks of this name. We share this outing with Franck, a friend of Sevan from Switzerland. He will stay with us for 4 days to discover Armenia.

 

On site, we park next to Lake Kari. On its shores there is an ancient observatory and a cosmic research center.

 

We gear up and set off for a hike that will take us to two of the four Aragats peaks, the south at 3,850m and the west at 4,090m.

 

Arriving at the top, we have an incredible view of these orange and yellow peaks. These mountains in the ground completely disorient us. On top of that, they are enhanced by   late afternoon light.

photo numéro 3.jpg
Z62_2208.jpg

The symphony of stones

Also called basalt organ, the symphony of stones is a rock formation with very particular shapes.

 

When we enter the site, we find ourselves in a portion of the valley in which each rock has this characteristic aspect. It is with eyes full of stars, a mixture of fascination and reverie that we advance along the river.

Geghard Monastery & garni temple

Arriving at the monastery, we discover a site, certainly beautiful, but which does not seem more remarkable than other monasteries that we have been able to visit in the country.

 

On entering the main church, lit only by daylight and a few candles, we hear songs whose origin we cannot determine. A small corridor leads us to a Jamatoun (typically Armenian secondary room) in which we find the origin of the songs. These are four women who sing in this room with its very special acoustics. The beauty of these melodies and the air that seems to vibrate give us chills. We come out of this room all moved by what we have just experienced.

photo numéro 5.jpg
DJI_0865.jpg

Azhdahak Volcano

It is at 8 that we show at the top of the Azhdahak volcano. Our vehicle not being adapted, we embark in the big Renaud truck of Camille and Mathieu for 22 km of very rutted track.

 

Together, we set up our camp and we spend 3 days on a plateau at an altitude of more than 2700m. We discover simply incredible lunar landscapes. In Armenia, there are more than 500 volcanoes, but the Azhdahak is really the one not to be missed. We are dazzled by the color contrasts between the very blue water of the lake formed in the hollow of the volcano and the black/brown volcanic rocks.

1,2,3 pics!

This photo was taken at the top of the Azhdahak volcano with a team of travelers who set out to discover the world by truck, defender and motorcycle. We shared a few days rich in emotions and adventure in these remote highlands of Armenia.

photo numéro 7.jpg
photo numéro 8.jpg

Noravank

Noravank Monastery is one of the most beautiful sites we discovered in Armenia. Bathed in the lights of the end of the day, this place is breathtaking and we are very happy to have stopped there for a few moments.

Tatev

The Tatev Monastery, located on a promontory, is simply sublime and somewhat reminiscent of a fortress with its surrounding walls. Over the centuries, the monastery had to be rebuilt several times due to damage caused by earthquakes. Today, several buildings persist including a church, chapels, stables and various rooms that were once used for the life of the monks. Today, most of these rooms remain empty.

photo numéro 9.jpg
photo numéro 10.jpg

photo stop

When the light comes and the place is beautiful, we like to photograph our house on wheels.

bottom of page

top of page
Z62_2009.jpg

ARMENIE

"Voir le monde de ses yeux est mille fois mieux que n’importe quel rêve."

Ray Bradbury

Cette destination nous fait découvrir de nouveaux paysages et de nouveaux horizons tous bien différents de tout ce dont nous avons pu découvrir jusqu’à présent.

Z62_1945.jpg
Z62_1945.jpg

Lac Sevan

Le moment temps attendu pour Sevan, voir son lac homonyme. À notre arrivée sur les rives du lac Sevan, nous nous dirigeons vers un spot où nous retrouvons JB (Jean-Baptiste) et Oli.

 

Une piste nous mène vers cette magnifique petite plage située juste à côté du parc national de Sevan. Ce sera notre spot pour les trois prochaines nuits.

Sevanavank

L’église de Sevanavank est probablement le site le plus visité des rives du lac Sevan. Après quelques minutes de marche et après avoir monté quelques volées d’escaliers, nous découvrons enfin le site qui est composé de deux très belles églises implantées sur une colline surplombant le Lac. Ces deux bâtisses dégagent une belle énergie et le site offre des vues à couper le souffle sur les paysages environnants.

Z62_1990.jpg
photo numéro 2.jpg

Volcan Yotnaghbyur

Près du village de Tsovazard, nous nous rendons sur un volcan, le Yotnaghbyur. La randonnée est rapide, 2 h aller-retour et nous avons droit à une belle vue sur le lac Sevan et d'autres volcans qui se trouvent aux alentours.

Mont Aragats

Nous nous rendons dans le parc national du Mont Aragats pour gravir un des 4 sommets à ce nom. Nous partageons cette sortie avec Franck, un ami de Sevan venu de Suisse. Il restera avec nous 4 jours pour découvrir l’Arménie.

 

Sur place, nous nous garons à côté du lac Kari. Sur ses rives se trouvent un ancien observatoire et un centre de recherche cosmique.

 

Nous nous équipons et nous partons pour une randonnée qui nous rendra surs deux des quatre sommets Aragats, le sud à 3 850 m d’altitude et l'ouest qui se trouve à 4 090 m d’altitude.

 

Arrivés en haut, nous avons une vue incroyable sur ces sommets orangés et jaunes. Ces montagnes en terre nous dépaysent complètement. En plus de cela, ils sont sublimés par   la lumière de la fin de journée.

photo numéro 3.jpg
Z62_2208.jpg

La symphonie des pierres

Appelée également orgue basaltique, la symphonie des pierres est une formation rocheuse aux formes très particulières.

 

À notre entrée sur le site, nous nous retrouvons dans une portion de vallée dans laquelle chaque rocher à cet aspect caractéristique. C’est avec les yeux pleins d’étoiles, un mélange de fascination et de rêverie que nous avançons le long de la rivière.

Monastère de Geghard & temple de Garni

En arrivant au monastère, nous découvrons un site, certes beau, mais qui ne semble pas plus remarquable que d’autres monastères que nous avons pu visiter dans le pays.

 

En rentrant dans l’église principale, éclairée par la seule lumière du jour et par quelques bougies, nous entendons des chants dont nous n’arrivons pas à déterminer la provenance. Un petit couloir nous mène à un Jamatoun (pièce secondaire typiquement arménienne) dans laquelle nous trouvons l’origine des chants. Ce sont quatre femmes qui chantent dans cette pièce à l’acoustique si particulière. La beauté de ces mélodies et l’aire qui semble vibrer nous donnent des frissons. Nous ressortons de cette pièce tout émus par ce que nous venons de vivre.

photo numéro 5.jpg
DJI_0865.jpg

Volcan Azhdahak

C’est à 8 que nous montrons au sommet du volcan Azhdahak. Notre véhicule n’étant pas adapté, nous embarquons dans le gros camion Renaud de Camille et Mathieu pour 22 km de piste bien défoncée.

 

Ensemble, nous installons notre campement et nous passons 3 jours sur un plateau à plus de 2700m d’altitude. Nous découvrons des paysages lunaires juste incroyables. En Arménie, il y a plus de 500 volcans, mais le Azhdahak est vraiment celui à ne pas manquer. Nous sommes éblouis par les contrastes de couleurs entre l’eau très bleue du lac formé au creux du volcan et les noirs/bruns des roches volcaniques .

1,2,3 photos !

Cette photo a été prise au sommet du volcan Azhdahak avec une équipe de voyageurs partis à la découverte du monde en camion, en defender et à moto. On a partagé quelques jours bien riches en émotions et en aventure ces hauts plateaux bien reculés d’Arménie.

photo numéro 7.jpg
photo numéro 8.jpg

Noravank

Le monastère de Noravank est l’un des plus beaux sites que nous ayons découverts en Arménie. Baigné par les lumières de la fin de journée, ce lieu est à couper le souffle et nous sommes bien contents de nous y être arrêtés quelques instants.

Tatev

Le Monastère de Tatev, implanté sur un promontoire, est tout bonnement sublime et fait quelque peu penser à une forteresse avec ses murs d’enceinte. Au cours des siècles, le monastère a dû être reconstruit à plusieurs reprises à cause des dommages occasionnés par des tremblements de terre. Aujourd’hui, plusieurs bâtiments persistent notamment une église, des chapelles, des étables et diverses pièces qui servaient autrefois à la vie des moines. Aujourd’hui, la plupart de ces pièces restent vides.

photo numéro 9.jpg
photo numéro 10.jpg

Stop photo

Lorsque la lumière se présente et que l’endroit est beau, nous aimons photographier notre maison sur roues.

bottom of page