top of page
72CD2DAE-56E7-47B8-A337-78F2EEB5296A_24EEFBDC-F15F-4A47-80A9-FB035EF7F459.jpg

AUSTRIA

“Luck is the ability to adapt instantly to the unexpected.”

Alfred Capus

In Italy, we experienced our van for the first time in winter conditions and could see that it was not perfect. Indeed, our electrical installation is not well enough designed to allow us to be self-sufficient in electricity in winter. We had to go, several times, to campsites to recharge our battery.

 

After some research on the internet, we find in Innsbruck a product that should be able to help us and that we cannot find in northern Italy. We had not planned to go to Austria, but it will be an opportunity to discover an additional country.

Electrical Installation

Before Austria, our electrical installation consisted of a Bluetti AC 200p (electrical box which manages the inputs, storage and electrical supply for the van) and two Victron solar panels (2x175 W) mounted in series and thus supposed to provide a current of 36V. However, we have found that with the low light intensities of winter this voltage can drop to 33V. Unfortunately, the Bluetti is designed in such a way that as soon as the voltage drops below 35V, the battery charging stops.

 

Roman Schmidt helps us enormously with regard to electrical reflections and it is he who drew our attention to this characteristic of the Bluetti. 

 

For  improve the situation, so we decided to install a third solar panel, of the same type and brand as those already mounted on the van (with a series installation it is advantageous to have solar panels with the same characteristics) , and connect it also in series to bring the voltage to about 56V. 

 

With this upgrade of the installation, in winter, we were able to more than double the solar gains. The other months of the year, the increase in solar gains will probably be proportional to the increase in the surface area of the installation.

BIKE

We take advantage of mountain biking while we find our solar panel and install it. Mixing pleasures and obligations is a perfect program. 

 

Biking is famous in Austria and there are countless trails of all kinds and levels. Our first day of mountain biking takes us to Hungerburg where we discover typical bikepark trails. We meet two locals there who advise us on a great outing for the next day. On the program 1200 m of positive altitude difference and much more natural and technical trails.

Generosity

We only stayed in Austria for a short time, but it didn't take long for the Austrians to surprise us with their kindness and generosity.

 

Already, when buying the aluminum profiles for the installation of the solar panel, the seller not only cuts them for us free of charge to the desired lengths, although this is not a service offered by the brand, but he also offers us a mastic gun and a cartridge that goes with it.

 

Time to mount the third solar panel, we park in a parking lot in the center of Innsbruck. It is therefore quite natural that the inhabitants of the district are intrigued by these two Swiss, their solar panel and their white bus. Among them, there are Ernst and Brigitte who invite us to come and warm up at their place with a cup of tea. This invitation quickly turns into a meal and a tasting of the best liqueurs prepared by the hostess. We spend an extremely pleasant evening and meet these two big-hearted characters who also like to travel with their van. As we bid them farewell, we have our arms full of homemade jams. These will turn out to be the best jams we have ever tasted.

COVID is catching up with us

By making the various purchases necessary for the installation of a new solar panel, we learn to our great surprise that the country will enter, as of Monday, in complete lockdown to counter the surge in the number of COVID cases. So we only have three days to do the work on the van and get an impression of Innsbruck and its surroundings.

bottom of page

top of page
72CD2DAE-56E7-47B8-A337-78F2EEB5296A_24EEFBDC-F15F-4A47-80A9-FB035EF7F459.jpg

AUTRICHE

“La chance, c’est la faculté de s’adapter instantanément à l’imprévu.”

Alfred Capus

En Italie, nous avons expérimenté pour la première fois notre van dans des conditions hivernales et avons pu constater qu’il n’était pas parfait. En effet, notre installation électrique n’est pas suffisamment bien conçue pour nous permettre d’être autonomes en électricité en hiver. Nous avons dû nous rendre, à plusieurs reprises, dans des campings pour recharger notre batterie.

 

Après quelques recherches sur internet, nous trouvons, à Innsbruck, un produit qui devrait pouvoir nous aider et que nous ne trouvons pas dans le nord de l’Italie. Nous n’avions pas prévu de nous rendre en Autriche, mais ce sera l’occasion de découvrir un pays supplémentaire.

Installation électrique

Avant l’Autriche, notre installation électrique était composée d’un Bluetti AC 200p (boîtier électrique qui gère les apports, le stockage et la fourniture électrique pour le van) et de deux panneaux solaires Victron (2x175 W) montés en série et ainsi censés fournir un courant de 36V. Or, nous avons constaté qu’avec les faibles intensités lumineuses de l’hiver cette tension peut baisser jusqu’à 33V. Malheureusement, le Bluetti est conçu de telle manière que dès que la tension baisse en dessous de 35V, la recharge de la batterie coupe.

 

Roman Schmidt nous aide énormément en ce qui concerne les réflexions électriques et c’est d’ailleurs lui qui a attiré notre attention sur cette caractéristique du Bluetti. 

 

Pour  améliorer la situation, nous avons donc décidé d’installer un troisième panneau solaire, du même type et marque que ceux déjà montés sur le van (avec une installation en série, il est avantageux d’avoir des panneaux solaires avec les mêmes caractéristiques) , et de le raccorder lui aussi en série pour faire passer la tension à environ 56V. 

 

Avec cette mise à niveau de l’installation, en hiver, nous avons pu plus que doubler les apports solaires. Les autres mois de l’année, l’augmentation des apports solaires sera probablement proportionnelle à l’augmentation de la surface de l'installation.

BIKE

Nous profitons de faire du VTT le temps de trouver notre panneau solaire et de l’installer. Mélanger plaisirs et obligations est un programme parfait. 

 

Le bike est réputé en Autriche et on y trouve d’innombrables trails de toute sorte et de tout niveau. Notre première journée de vtt nous emmène vers Hungerburg où nous découvrons des trails typés bikepark. Nous y rencontrons deux locaux qui nous conseillent une belle grande sortie pour le lendemain. Au programme 1200 m de dénivelée positifs et des trails beaucoup plus naturels et techniques.

Générosité

Nous ne restons que peu de temps en Autriche, mais il n’en faut pas plus aux Autrichiens pour nous surprendre avec leur gentillesse et leur générosité.

 

Déjà, au moment d’acheter les profilés aluminium pour la pose du panneau solaire, non seulement le vendeur nous les découpes gracieusement aux longueurs souhaitées, alors que ce n’est pas un service proposé par l’enseigne, mais il nous offre également un pistolet à mastique et une cartouche qui va avec.

 

Le temps de monter le troisième panneau solaire, nous nous parquons sur un parking en plein centre d’Innsbruck. Il est donc tout naturel que les habitants du quartier soient intrigués par ces deux Suisses, leur panneau solaire et leur bus blanc. Parmi eux, il y a Ernst et Brigitte qui nous proposent de venir nous réchauffer chez eux autour d’une tasse de thé. Cette invitation se transforme très vite en un repas et une dégustation des meilleures liqueurs préparées par la maîtresse de maison. Nous passons une soirée extrêmement agréable et faisons la connaissance de ces deux personnages au grand coeur qui eux aussi aiment voyager avec leur van. Au moment de leur dire nos adieux, nous avons les bras chargés de confitures faites maison. Ces dernières se révèleront être les meilleures confitures auxquelles nous n’ayons jamais goûtées.

Le COVID nous rattrappe

En faisant les différents achats nécessaires à la pose d’un nouveau panneau solaire, nous apprenons à notre plus grande surprise que le pays va entrer, dès lundi, en lockdown complet pour contrer la flambée du nombre cas de COVID. Nous n’avons donc que trois jours pour faire les travaux sur le van et nous faire une impression d’Innsbruck et de ses alentours.

bottom of page