top of page
DSC_4224.jpg

BOSNIA-HERZEGOVINA

"To travel is to be born and die at every moment."

Victor-Hugo

It is with a little melancholy that we leave Croatia, but with joy and curiosity that we discover a new country. 

 

After two months of travel, we begin to feel a certain loneliness. Indeed, on the roads, the winter months are not conducive to meeting people. So we spent most of the time just the two of us. It's perfect, we join two French people we met on social networks with whom we are going to spend a few days for our debut in Bosnia.

 

Our feeling when arriving in Bosnia is divided between love and disgust. We begin to discover this country where waste accumulates in magnificent landscapes. Thus, we have a little trouble fully savoring the nature that is offered to us.

photo numéro 1.jpg

The encounter with the French

The French, as we call them, are Anna and Antonin (A&A), a young couple who also travel in a VW crafter. Their van is also fully equipped by them. They mainly travel in Europe and plan to do a workaway in Bulgaria.

 

Our arrival in Bosnia is very pleasant. A&A, parked a few kilometers from Livno, welcome us like kings with a good hot meal in their van. We spend a few days together visiting the country, playing board games, doing karaoke, laughing, getting lost hiking, cooking, washing dishes and showering. In summary, apart from sleeping, we live together 24/7. Everything we needed. It is in Sarajevo that our paths separate, we say goodbye to them with a little twinge in the heart, but who knows, we may meet them again later on our way. 

Kravica Falls

The four of us go hiking along the river on a path that we think should lead us to the waterfalls. But, unfortunately, it stops a few hundred meters from our destination. In order to avoid getting lost "off the tracks" (where there could be mines left), we wisely retraced our steps. 

 

With the exception of the guard, who asks us 20 marks per person (+\- CHF 10. -/person) to enter, the falls park is completely deserted. No wonder given the season. This way of making nature pay, especially when no real infrastructure is offered, exasperates us and we decide not to enter and go for a walk.

 

An hour later, when we return to the parking lot, we notice people entering the falls area without paying. The caretaker has finished his day and the park is left wide open.

Neither one nor two, we enter the park and go to see these falls. We take a few pictures, waiting to see who will fall into the water first...

DSC_4192.jpg

Blagaj

Blagaj is a village, built in an urban-rural style typical of Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is located at the source of the Buna River which emerges from a karst cliff next to the Tekke monastery. Here lived dervishes, monks who followed the path of spiritual search and the choice of austere life similar to that of the monks of the Christian mendicant orders.

Mostar

The city of Mostar is the second largest city in Bosnia and it did not leave us indifferent. We were amazed by the amount of stigma left by the war (1991-2001). The buildings are still very marked or even dilapidated. Many houses and buildings are marked by bullet holes. 

 

We were marked, moved and even shivered in front of this still visually very present story. 

 

All these impressions have somewhat put in their place our feelings of the previous days. Indeed, we were able to understand that waste may not be a priority when the reconstruction of the country is.

 

Conversely, the old town and its famous bridge, the Stari Most, built in 1565 and destroyed in 1993 during the war, are now completely renovated. Indeed, these two attractions have been rebuilt thanks to funding from several European countries.

DSC_4270.jpg

Sarajevo

Sarajevo is the capital of Bosnia. We were delighted to discover it even if we have a little ball in the belly imagining in what state its history could have left it.

 

We are nevertheless surprised that, with the help of some European countries, the city has been largely rebuilt. Its center is touristy, but is still very lively with locals. We were able to spend some time in front of the biggest mosque in the city in full prayer, it was really very beautiful. We also discovered the surroundings of the city and some of its sites of interest, in particular the Sarajevo tunnel. The latter was dug under the city's airport during its siege and was its only physical link to the rest of the country.

Bosnian mountains

With the conditions offered by winter, we also have the chance to discover the snow-capped peaks of the country. We start by going to the Bjelasnica ski resort used during the 1984 Olympics and which is now experiencing a new lease of life. 

 

To our surprise, the layer of snow is very thin. In Milišići, we nevertheless put on our skis to try to climb, with sealskin, the Cetovičko Brdo which makes us look. Two dogs, who welcomed us on our arrival in the village and whom we nicknamed Boul and Bill, serve as our guide. To our greatest surprise, they follow us, somehow, throughout the trip.

 

In order to find a little more snow, we head towards Tušila where there are better oriented peaks. The snow conditions should be better there. In the morning, we set off to conquer the Vito. Unfortunately, arrived under the ridges, a few meters from the summit, the steepest slope is frozen. The ice axes, left in the van, would be necessary for us. So unfortunately we have to turn back. Luckily, the sun appears and illuminates the mountain opposite, the Veliko Brdo. It is still early, so we can revise our itinerary.

photo numéro 6.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
DSC_4224.jpg

BOSNIE-HERZEGOVINE

"Voyager c’est naître et mourir à chaque instant."

Victor Hugo

C’est avec un peu de mélancolie que nous quittons la Croatie, mais avec réjouissance et curiosité que nous découvrons un nouveau pays. 

 

Après deux mois de voyage, nous commençons à ressentir une certaine solitude. En effet, sur les routes, les mois d’hiver ne sont pas propices pour faire des rencontres. Nous avons donc passé la majorité du temps juste tous les deux. Ça tombe à pic, nous rejoignons deux Français rencontrés sur les réseaux sociaux avec qui nous allons passer quelques jours pour nos débuts en Bosnie.

 

Notre sensation en arrivant en Bosnie est partagée entre amour et dégout. Nous commençons à découvrir ce pays où les déchets s’accumulent dans des paysages magnifiques. Ainsi, nous avons un peu de mal à savourer complètement la nature qui s’offre à nous.

photo numéro 1.jpg

La rencontre avec les Français

Les Français, comme nous les appelons, sont Anna et Antonin (A&A), un jeune couple qui voyage eux aussi dans un VW crafter. Leur van est lui aussi entièrement aménagé par leur soin. Ils voyagent principalement en Europe et prévoient de faire un workaway en Bulgarie.

 

Notre arrivée en Bosnie est très agréable. A&A, parqués à quelques kilomètres de Livno, nous accueillent comme des rois avec un bon repas chaud dans leur van. Nous passons quelques jours ensembles à visiter le pays, jouer à des jeux de société, faire du karaoké, rigoler, se perdre en randonnée, faire à manger, la vaisselle est se doucher. En résumé, à part pour dormir, nous vivons 24/24 ensembles. Tout ce dont nous avions besoin. C’est à Sarajevo que nos routes se séparent, nous leur disons au revoir avec un petit pincement au coeur, mais qui sait, nous les recroiserons peut-être plus tard sur notre route. 

Les chutes de Kravica

Tous les quatre, nous partons en randonnée le long de la rivière sur un chemin qui, selon nous, devrait nous mener jusqu’aux cascades. Mais, malheureusement, il s’arrête à quelques centaines de mètres de notre destination. Afin d’éviter de nous perdre « hors des pistes » (où il pourrait rester des mines), nous rebroussons chemin sagement. 

 

À l’exception du gardien, qui nous demande 20 marks par personne (+\- CHF 10. -/personne) pour entrer, le parc des chutes est complètement désert. Ce n’est pas étonnant étant donné la saison. Cette façon de faire payer la nature, en particulier lorsqu’aucune réelle infrastructure n’est pas proposée, nous exaspère et nous décidons de ne pas entrer et d’aller nous promener.

 

Une heure plus tard, à notre retour sur le parking, nous remarquons que des gens entrent dans la zone des chutes sans payer. Le gardien a fini sa journée et le parc est laissé grand ouvert.

Ni d’une ni de deux, nous rentrons dans le parc et allons voir ces chutes. Nous prenons quelques photos, en attendant de voir qui tombera dans l’eau le premier…

DSC_4192.jpg

Blagaj

Blagaj est un village, construit dans un style urbain et rural typique de Bosnie-Herzégovine. Il est implanté à la source de la rivière Buna qui sort d’une falaise karstique à côté du monastère Tekke. Ici vivaient des derviches, des moines qui suivaient la voie d’une recherche spirituelle et le choix de vie austère similaire à celle des moines des ordres mendiants chrétiens.

Mostar

La ville de Mostar est la deuxième plus grande ville de la Bosnie et elle ne nous a pas laissés indifférents. Nous sommes restés stupéfaits devant la quantité de stigmates laissée par la guerre (1991-2001). Les bâtiments sont encore très marqués ou même délabrés. De nombreuses maisons et immeubles sont marqués par des impacts de balles. 

 

Nous avons été marqués, émus et même parcourus de frissons devant cette histoire encore visuellement très présente. 

 

Toutes ces impressions ont remis quelque peu à leur place nos ressentis des jours précédents. En effet, nous avons pu comprendre que les déchets puissent ne pas être une priorité alors que la reconstruction du pays, elle, l’est.

 

A contrario, la vieille ville et son fameux pont le Stari Most, construit en 1565 et détruit en 1993 pendant la guerre, sont aujourd’hui entièrement rénovés. En effet, ces deux attractions ont pu être reconstruites grâce au financement de plusieurs pays européens.

DSC_4270.jpg

Sarajevo

Sarajevo est la capitale de la Bosnie. Nous nous réjouissions de la découvrir même si nous avons un peu la boule au ventre en imaginant dans quel état son histoire a pu la laisser.

 

Nous sommes néanmoins surpris que, avec l'aide de certains pays d'Europe, la ville a été en très grande partie reconstruite. Son centre est touristique, mais reste tout de même très animé par les locaux. Nous avons pu passé un peut de temps devant la plus grande mosquée de la ville en pleine prière, c’était vraiment très beau. Nous avons également découvert les alentours de la ville et quelques-uns de ses sites d'intérêt notamment le tunnel de Sarajevo. Ce dernier a été creusé sous l'aéroport de la ville pendant son siège et était son seul lien physique avec le reste du pays.

Les montagnes Bosniaque

Avec les conditions que nous offre l’hiver, nous avons également la chance de pouvoir découvrir les sommets enneigés du pays. Nous commençons par nous rendre dans la station de ski de Bjelasnica utilisée pendant les JO de 1984 et qui connait aujourd’hui une nouvelle jeunesse. 

 

À notre plus grande surprise, la couche de neige est très fine. À Milišići, nous enfilons néanmoins nos skis pour essayer de gravir, à peau de phoque, le Cetovičko Brdo qui nous fait de l’oeil. Deux chiens, qui nous ont accueillis à notre arrivée dans le village et que nous surnommons Boul et Bill, nous servent de guide. À notre plus grande surprise, ils nous suivent, tant bien que mal, tout au long de la sortie.

 

Afin de trouver un peu plus de neige, nous nous dirigeons vers Tušila où il y a des sommets mieux orientés. Les conditions d’enneigement devraient y être meilleures. Le matin, nous partons à la conquête du Vito. Malheureusement, arrivé sous les crêtes, à quelques mètres du sommet, la pente la plus raide est gelée. Les piolets, restés dans le van, nous seraient nécessaires. Nous devons donc malheureusement rebrousser chemin. Par chance, le soleil apparaît et éclaire la montagne d’en face, le Veliko Brdo. Il est encore tôt, nous pouvons donc revoir notre itinéraire.

photo numéro 6.jpg
bottom of page