top of page
DSC_6028.jpg

BULGARIA

"Every day is a new adventure."

Mazouz Acene

Bulgaria surprises us on several levels. It offers us very varied landscapes, often breathtaking and allows us to practice two of our favorite activities. We had a big crush on the mountain bike trails that we can discover in the country, among the most beautiful that we have been able to discover since the beginning of our trip! In addition to this, although at first glance the population seems quite cold, it is actually very kind and generous.

photo numéro 1.jpg

A source of hot water

When we arrived in Bulgaria, the weather was not the best. It is cold and gray there. So we plan to go swimming in natural hot springs near the village of Roupite. 

 

Arriving there, we are surprised to see almost only locals with their caravans for the weekend. No tourists, just us and a Dutch girl with whom we exchange 2 words. 

 

These water sources are very different from the one in which we bathed in Greece. The pools there are smaller and shallower, but here we can choose the water temperature that we like the most. They vary between 35 and 70°. We wonder, moreover, how do people manage to bathe in this boiling water? The water doesn't smell like a rotten egg because it doesn't contain sulphur, but it is rich in minerals. We could drink it, but it is advisable not to abuse it.

 

At the bottom of the pools there is mud, which to be honest I only like moderately even though it's supposed to be good for the skin. We are surprised to find that, at depth where the water is less often renewed, the temperatures are cooler, even cold. We suddenly cold quite quickly and do not stay there for hours.

 

A few days later, we will have the opportunity to discover the hot springs near Stara Kresna which will convince us much more.

Mountain biking in Bulgaria

Not far from the city of Blagoevgrad, in the Bachinovo National Park, we discover several bikepark-type mountain bike trails. The ones we decide to take convince us from the first pedal strokes on the way up. Indeed, they do not only take us through roads or passable paths, but also through single trails with perfect slopes, neither too steep nor too flat. As for the descents, they are among the most beautiful that we have had the opportunity to discover since the beginning of our journey. The slopes are clean and there is something for all levels!

 

Later in our journey, we discover the Varvara/Velingrad region and its 37 superbly indicated official trails. We don't have time to go through them all, but we are blown away by the quality of the ones we do. We remember that, for lovers of bike, enduro and single trails, in Bulgaria we are served.

photo numéro2.jpg
photo numéro 3.jpg

Skiing in Bulgaria

It's mid-April and just when we thought the ski season was over, heavy snowfall has us wanting to get back up the mountain and play extra time to put our skis back on.

 

We arrive in the Rila National Park, where we park in the ski resort of Markudjik. From here we plan to explore the 7 Rila Lakes. These are small lakes surrounded by many mountains, magnificent to see both in winter on skis and on hikes in summer.

 

We wake up at dawn and prepare our things. Lucky, as always, when we get ready to go skiing or mountain biking, is impatient and would like to leave immediately. It's very funny to see him like that! During the climb, we have the right to a magnificent sunrise which illuminates the snow with its magnificent red and orange colors. It's just magical to relive such moments so quickly when we thought we had to wait a long time given the advanced season and the mild temperatures of the last few weeks. Unfortunately, a strong wind came to spoil the party and prevented us from reaching the lakes and forced us to turn back.

Sofia

Capital of Bulgaria, Sofia quickly gained importance. Already in Roman times, it was a key node in the trade route from Constantinople to Rome. There are also many vestiges of the key periods of the city and the religions that have been important there (Judaic, Christian, Orthodox and Muslim).

 

We discover a city that we like a lot, especially with the many traces of its history (especially around the Nezavisimost square) and with its restaurants and bars full of charm.

photo 4.jpg
photo numéro 5.jpg

Musala, first night in a tent.

We are planning to climb Mount Malyovitsa which is a popular peak in the 7 lakes region where we were last time. Knowing that because of the lack of snow, we will have to carry our skis over several hundred meters of vertical drop, we are only moderately motivated. We know, however, that this time it is indeed our last opportunity to get out the skis.

 

Passing near the ski resort of Borovets, Sevan has the good idea to go see if on the ski slopes, since the snow has been packed down there, there is still a way to go up in sealskin. Luck is on our side and we discover a "beautiful" band of white snow tending to brown which descends in the middle of the pastures and the forest which have already taken on a very green color. We therefore have the opportunity to climb, on skis, the highest peak in Bulgaria, Musala, which culminates at 2930 m.

 

We evaluate the outing and imagine being able to do it over 2 days. So we have to sleep one night in a tent in the snow.

 

It's 4 p.m., the sun is beating down, but here we are, ready to leave. We begin to climb on this spring snow made very soft by the sun. The weight of our bags is well felt, but after 800 m of altitude difference we finally arrive at the point where we want to land for the night.

Musala suite

We prepare our camp and Lucky observes a little what is happening around him. It's not only our first night in a tent with him, but it's also a first for Sevan and me.

 

We savor the sunset, all orange, gently descending behind the mountains. At night, the cold is very quickly felt. So we take refuge very quickly in our tent to sleep.

 

In the early morning, we begin the remaining 600 m of elevation gain to the summit. The snow is still well frozen which is not unpleasant to go up. However, because of our more relaxed pace, fatigue is felt and we are not the fastest.

 

We nevertheless arrive at the summit from where we see a magnificent panorama of all the surrounding snow-capped peaks. We are not long in descending, because the snow begins to turn. We savor the view one last time and prepare our skis for the descent which promises to be long because of the many false rising flats that we will have to cross.

DSC_6015.jpg
photo numéro 6.jpg

Plovdiv

Plovdiv, the second largest city in the country after the capital Sofia, is a city that has a lot of charm. We particularly appreciated the old Plovdiv (the old town) with its influences from the different great eras and its architecture dating from the 19th century. One of its most remarkable monuments is its Roman theater which is located in the middle of the city.

First real family photo

We stop in the middle of the woods to take a picture of the three of us, because we found that since Lucky has been traveling with us, we haven't taken a family picture yet.

photo numéro 8.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
DSC_6028.jpg

BULGARIE

"Chaque jour est une nouvelle aventure."

Mazouz Acène

La Bulgarie nous surprend à plusieurs niveaux. Elle nous offre des paysages très variés, souvent à couper le souffle et nous permet de pratiquer deux de nos activités favorites. Nous avons eu un gros coup de coeur pour les trails à VTT que l’on peut découvrir dans le pays, parmi les plus beaux que l’on ait pu découvrir depuis le début de notre voyage! En plus de cela, bien qu’au premier abord la population semble assez froide, elle est en réalité d’une grande gentillesse et générosité.

photo numéro 1.jpg

Source d’eau chaude

À notre arrivée en Bulgarie, la météo n'est pas des plus clémente. Il y fait froid et gris. Nous prévoyons donc d'aller nous baigner dans des sources d'eau chaude naturelle proche du village de Roupite. 

 

En arrivant sur place, nous sommes surpris d'y voir presque que des locaux avec leurs caravanes pour le week-end. Pas de touriste, juste nous et une Néerlandaise avec qui nous échangeons 2 mots. 

 

Ces sources d'eau sont bien différentes de celle dans laquelle nous sommes allés nous baigner en Grèce. Les bassins y sont plus petits et moins profonds, mais ici nous pouvons choisir la température d’eau qui nous plaît plus. Elles varient entre 35 et 70°. Nous nous demandons d'ailleurs, comment les gens arrivent-ils à se baigner dans cette eau bouillante ? L'eau ne sent pas l'œuf pourri, car elle ne contient pas de soufre, par contre elle est riche en minéraux. Nous pourrions en boire, mais il est conseillé de ne pas en abuser.

 

Au fond des bassins, il y a de la boue, ce qui, pour être honnête, ne me plaît que moyennement même si c'est censé être bon pour la peau. Nous sommes surpris de constater que, en profondeur là où l’eau est moins souvent renouvelée, les températures sont plus fraiches, voire même froides. Nous avons du coup assez vite froid et n’y restons pas des heures.

 

Quelques jours plus tard, nous aurons l’occasion de découvrir les sources d’eau chaude près de Stara Kresna qui nous convaincront bien plus.

VTT en Bulgarie

Non loin de la ville de Blagoevgrad, dans le parc national de Bachinovo, nous découvrons plusieurs trails à VTT typés bikepark. Ceux que nous décidons d’emprunter nous convainquent dès les premiers coups de pédales à la montée. En effet, ils ne nous font pas uniquement passer par des routes ou des chemins carrossables, mais également par des singles trails aux pentes parfaites, ni trop raides ni trop plates. En ce qui concerne les descentes, elles font partie des plus belles que nous ayons eu l’occasion de découvrir depuis le début de notre périple. Les pistes sont propres et il y en a pour tous les niveaux!

 

Plus tard dans notre périple, nous découvrons la région Varvara/Velingrad et ses 37 trails officiels superbement indiqués. Nous n’avons largement pas le temps de tous les parcourir, mais nous sommes époustouflés par la qualité de ceux que nous parcourons. Nous retenons que, pour les amateurs de bike, d’enduro et de single trails, en Bulgarie on est servis.

photo numéro2.jpg
photo numéro 3.jpg

Ski en Bulgarie

Nous sommes à la mi-avril et, alors que nous pensions que la saison de ski était terminée, d’abondantes chutes de neige nous donnent envie de remonter en montagne et de jouer aux prolongations en remettre nos skis.

 

Nous arrivons dans le parc national de Rila, où nous nous garons dans la station de ski de Markudjik. D’ici, nous prévoyons de partir à la découverte des 7 lacs de Rila. Ce sont des petits lacs entourés par de nombreuses montagnes, magnifiques à voir autant l’hiver à ski, qu’en randonnée l’été.

 

Nous nous réveillons aux aurores et préparons nos affaires. Lucky, comme à chaque fois, quand nous nous apprêtons à partir à ski ou à VTT, est impatient et voudrait partir tout de suite. C'est très drôle de le voir comme ça ! Pendant la montée, nous avons le droit à un magnifique lever de soleil qui illumine la neige de ses magnifiques couleurs rouge et orange. C'est juste magique de revivre de tels moments si vite alors que nous pensions devoir attendre un bon moment vu la saison avancée et les températures clémentes des dernières semaines. Malheureusement, un fort vent vient jouer les trouble-fêtes et nous empêche d’arriver aux lacs et nous oblige à rebrousser chemin.

Sofia

Capitale de la Bulgarie, Sofia a très vite pris de l'importance. À l'époque romaine, déjà, elle était un nœud primordial de la voie commerciale allant de Constantinople à Rome. On y trouve d'ailleurs bons nombre de vestiges des époques clefs de la ville et des religions qui y ont eu de l'importance (judaïque, chrétienne, orthodoxes et musulmane).

 

Nous découvrons une ville qui nous plaît beaucoup notamment avec les nombreuses traces de son histoire (notamment autour de la place Nezavisimost) et avec ses restaurants et ses bars pleins de charme.

photo 4.jpg
photo numéro 5.jpg

Musala, première nuit sous tente.

Nous envisageons de gravir le mont Malyovitsa, qui est un sommet populaire de la région des 7 lacs où nous étions la dernière fois. Sachant qu’à cause du manque de neige, nous devrons porter nos skis sur plusieurs centaines de mètres de dénivelé vertical, nous sommes que moyennement motivés. Nous savons néanmoins que c’est, cette fois si, belle et bien notre dernière occasion de sortir les skis.

 

En passant à proximité de la station de ski de Borovets, Sevan à la bonne idée d'aller voir si sur les pistes de ski, vu que la neige y a été tassée, il y a encore moyen de monter en peau de phoque. La chance est avec nous et nous y découvrons une « belle » bande de neige blanche tirant sur le brun qui descend au milieu des pâturages et de la forêt qui ont pris une couleur déjà bien verte. Nous avons donc l’occasion de gravir, à ski, le plus haut sommet de Bulgarie, le Musala qui culmine à 2930 m.

 

Nous évaluons la sortie et imaginons pouvoir la faire sur 2 jours. Il nous faut donc dormir une nuit sous tente dans la neige.

 

Il est 16 h, le soleil tape fort, mais nous voilà fin prêts à partir. Nous commençons à monter sur cette neige de printemps rendue bien molle par le soleil. Le poids de nos sacs se fait bien ressentir, mais après 800 m de dénivelé nous arrivons enfin au point où nous voulons nous poser pour la nuit.

Musala suite

Nous préparons notre campement et Lucky observe un peu ce qu'il se passe autour de lui. C’est non seulement notre première nuit sous tente avec lui, mais c’est également une première pour Sevan et moi.

 

Nous savourons le coucher du soleil, tout orangé qui descend gentiment derrière les montagnes. La nuit arrivée, le froid se fait très vite ressentir. Nous nous réfugions donc très vite sous notre tente pour dormir.

 

Au petit matin, nous entamons les 600 m de dénivelé restant jusqu’au sommet. La neige est encore bien gelée ce qui n'est pas désagréable pour monter. Cependant, à cause de notre pas des plus reposantes, la fatigue se fait ressentir et nous ne sommes pas des plus rapides.

 

Nous arrivons néanmoins jusqu’au sommet d’où nous voyons un panorama magnifique sur tous les pics enneigés aux alentours. Nous ne tardons pas à redescendre, car la neige commence à tourner. Nous savourons une dernière fois la vue et préparons nos skis pour la descente qui s’annonce longue à cause de nombreux faux plats montants que nous devrons traverser.

DSC_6015.jpg
photo numéro 6.jpg

Plovdiv

Plovdiv, la deuxième plus grande ville après du pays après la capitale Sofia, est une ville qui a beaucoup de charme. Nous avons particulièrement apprécié le vieux Plovdiv (la vieille ville) avec ses influences des différentes grandes époques et son architecture datant du XIXe siècle. Un de ses monuments les plus remarquables est son théâtre romain qui est implanté en plein milieu de la ville.

Première vraie photo de famille

Nous nous arrêtons au milieu des bois pour nous prendre en photo tous les trois, car nous avons constaté que, depuis que Lucky voyage avec nous, nous n’avions pas encore pris de photo de famille.

photo numéro 8.jpg
bottom of page