top of page
DSC_3448.jpg

CROATIA

"To stay is to exist. To travel is to live."

Gustave Nabaud

Winter is a time of year when you meet very few people. We do a lot of sports, so we don't get bored, but we know that for other travelers, those who are mainly looking for the meetings and the animation of the cities, it is a much more difficult time of the year. In addition, let's be honest, life in a van in winter is not the easiest thing. Cold, humidity and loneliness are all factors that complicate the journey.

As soon as we arrived in the country, Croatia gave us a boost. She is also one of our favourites. Indeed, the milder temperatures, the sun and the sea make life in a van so much easier. Even though we love winter and winter sports, this change of atmosphere, the possibility of landing by the sea, buying fresh fish and being able to put on lighter outfits made us the greatest GOOD.

photo numéro 1 .jpg

the climb

In a few kilometers of road, we swapped our ski boots and our winter clothes for our climbing shoes and more spring outfits. We discovered the world of climbing in Croatia and we fell in love with the many spots and sectors dedicated to it. The different sites we discovered are: in the Buzet region, the Kompanj sector; Paklenica Park (amusement park for climbers); Karin near Zadar; Splitsko-dalmatinska in Split.

Plitvicka Jezera

This natural park is renowned for its many waterfalls and lakes. Even if this site is very touristy and you have to pay an entrance, it is really worth the detour. We are not usually a fan of places where nature pays off, but here the park offers a real plus. There is a nature without waste (this is not always the case here), wooden pontoons to navigate steep areas and to pass from one shore to the other of the lakes as well as boats and buses, them also included in the entrance ticket.

 

This corner of Croatia is so beautiful that there is something magical about it. We had a lot of fun walking around there.

The moment when everything stops

This photo is taken one day, when we wake up, when we don't know where we really are. 

 

We arrive there at night without knowing what the place looks like. We park the van as flat as we can and go to bed. In the morning, when opening the sliding door, we discover this fabulous landscape, this enormous rocky canyon which overlooks this river. We are both inspired like never before. Chloé takes her pen and her travel diary to write and Sevan takes out his camera.

Sunrise

That morning, we woke up facing the sea with the sunrise. We admire this orange and pink landscape for a few minutes without saying a word. These are such precious moments of the trip that we will never tire of. Croatia is a place where we see a lot of sunsets and sunrises, each one more beautiful than the other.

photo numéro 4.jpg
photo numéro 5.jpg

New Year's Sunset

That evening, we admire the sunset brushing against the cliffs that we were still climbing just before nightfall. It's our New Year's Eve and we intend to have a little aperitif in front of the wind turbines which point the tips of their propellers above the sea of clouds. A beautiful show that life offers us to end this year 2021.

Šibenik

We visited different cities throughout our trip in Croatia, the city of Trogiv, Zadar, Rijeka, Split and finally Šibenik.

A city which, at first glance, makes you want to run away. We passed through an industrial area before arriving in the city whose urban fabric did not make you want to stop there. And yet, we went for a walk on entering the well-hidden gem of the city. We discover a somewhat medieval old town with old stone buildings and churches everywhere. We want to enter and cross every corner of the city, it's so beautiful and in a different context.

photo numéro 6_edited.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
DSC_3448.jpg

CROATIE

"Rester, c’est exister. Voyager, c’est vivre."

Gustave Nabaud

L’hiver, c’est une période de l’année où l’on rencontre très peu de gens. Nous faisons beaucoup de sports, nous ne nous ennuyons donc pas, mais nous savons que pour d’autres voyageurs, ceux qui recherchent principalement les rencontres et l’animation des villes, c’est une période de l’année beaucoup plus difficile. De plus, soyons honnête, la vie en van l’hiver ce n’est pas ce qu’il y a plus facile. Le froid, l’humidité et la solitude sont tous des facteurs qui compliquent le voyage.

Dès notre arrivée dans le pays, la Croatie nous a mis du bôme au coeur. Elle est d’ailleurs l’un de nos coup de coeur. En effet, les températures plus clémente, le soleil et la mer facilitent tellement la vie en van. Même si nous adorons l’hiver et les sports d’hiver, ce changement d’ambiance, la possibilité de se poser en bord de mer, d’acheter du poisson frais et de pouvoir mettre des tenues plus légères nous ont fait le plus grand bien.

photo numéro 1 .jpg

La grimpe

En quelques kilomètres de route, nous avons troqué nos chaussures de ski et nos vêtements d’hiver contre nos chaussons de grimpe et des tenues plus printanières. Nous avons découvert l’univers de la grimpe en Croatie et nous sommes tombés amoureux des nombreux spots et secteurs qui y sont dédiés. Les différents sites que nous avons découverts sont : dans la région de Buzet, le secteur de Kompanj ; le parc de Paklenica (le parc d’attractions des grimpeurs) ; Karin près de Zadar ; Splitsko-dalmatinska à Split.

Plitvička Jezera

Ce parc naturel est réputé pour ses nombreuses cascades et ses lacs. Même si ce site est très touristique et qu’il faut payer une entrée, il vaut vraiment le détour. Nous ne sommes habituellement pas fan des endroits où la nature est payant, mais ici le parque offre un réel plus. On y trouve une nature sans déchets (ce n’est pas toujours le cas ici), des pontons en bois pour parcourir des zones escarpées et pour passer d’une rive à l’autre des lacs ainsi que des bateaux et des bus, eux aussi compris dans le billet d’entrée.

 

Ce coin de la Croatie est tellement beau qu’il en a quelque chose de féérique. Nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à nous y balader.

Le moment où tout s’arrête

Cette photo est prise un jour, au moment du réveil, alors que nous ne savons pas où nous sommes vraiment. 

 

Nous arrivons sur place de nuit sans savoir à quoi ressemble l’endroit. Nous parquons le van aussi plat que nous le pouvons et allons nous coucher. Le matin, au moment d’ouvrir la porte coulissante, nous découvrons ce paysage fabuleux, cet énorme canyon rocheux qui surplombe cette rivière. Nous sommes les deux inspirés comme jamais. Chloé prend son stylo et son carnet de voyage pour écrire et Sevan, lui, sort sort son appareil photo.

Lever de soleil

Ce matin-là, nous nous réveillons face à la mer avec le lever du soleil. Nous admirons ce paysage orangé et rosé pendant quelques minutes sans dire un mot. Ce sont des moments tellement précieux du voyage dont nous ne nous lasserons jamais. La Croatie est un endroit ou l’on voit énormément de coucher et de lever de soleil tous plus beau les uns que les autres.

photo numéro 4.jpg
photo numéro 5.jpg

Coucher de soleil du nouvel an

Ce soir-là, nous admirons le coucher du soleil frôler les falaises que nous grimpions encore juste avant la tombée de la nuit. C’est notre soir du Nouvel An et nous avons l’intention de nous prendre un petit apéro face aux éoliennes qui pointe le bout de leurs hélices au-dessus de la mer de nuage. Un beau spectacle que nous offre la vie pour terminer cette année 2021.

Šibenik

Nous avons visités différentes villes tout au long de notre voyage en Croatie, la ville de Trogiv, Zadar, Rijeka, Split et enfin Šibenik.

Une ville qui, au premier abord, donne l’envie de repartir en courant. Nous sommes passés au travers d’une zone industrielle avant d’arriver dans la ville dont le tissu urbain ne donnait pas envie de s’y arrêter. Et pourtant, nous sommes allés nous balader en entrant dans le joyau de la ville bien cachée. Nous découvrons une vieille ville un peu médiévale avec des bâtiments anciens en pierre et des églises partout. On a envie d’y entrer et de traverser chaque recoin de la ville tellement c’est beau et dans un contexte différent.

photo numéro 6_edited.jpg
bottom of page