top of page
DSC_5280_edited.jpg

GREECE

"To live intensely does not mean to live each day as if it were the last, but as if it were the first."

Paul Carvel

We were very happy to arrive in Greece and we are not disappointed, but not necessarily for the reasons that one would directly think. Indeed, we arrived in the country in March and this year it snowed as it almost never snows here. We therefore had the opportunity to make magnificent ski trips while enjoying the view of the sea, which is quite simply magical! 

 

But that's not all! As soon as you go back down to the seaside, the temperatures are much milder. Near Mount Parnassus, for example, we went from -20°C to 15°C in less than 24 hours and driving only 30 minutes. With these temperatures, the conditions were therefore perfect for mountain biking, climbing and many more.

 

We were also struck by the kindness and generosity of the people. The day after my birthday, we were treated to a perfect example of this generosity. Indeed, while we were parked directly by the sea, a fisherman came to see us to offer us a cone filled with octopus, more than 2.5 kg, which he and his wife had just fished and cleaned.  ;

 

So of course, when you travel like us, you can't afford to go to a restaurant every day, but the few times we have treated ourselves to this luxury, we have not been on it!

DSC_4686_edited.jpg

Astraka 2486 m

Mikro Papingo is a small mountain village full of charm that is worth a visit. It is located in a valley surrounded by mountains and rivers, all connected by numerous footpaths. The village is traversed by small cobbled and narrow streets. These last zigzag between old and beautiful dry stone houses which shelter small restaurants which seem more succulent than the others!

 

Just above the village, there is a mountain, the Astraka, which we would like to climb on skis. However, we know that there is enough snow only from 1500m when we are only at 950m. We will therefore have to carry our skis for the first 500-600 meters of elevation. 

 

The next morning, we say goodbye to Lucky who does not accompany us for this outing because it is too long for him. Very tired after having carried our skis on 600 m of elevation gain, we find ourselves just in front of the steepest slope of the first route. After a few dried fruits, we launch ourselves there and climb on a first summit, the Kalogeros (2112 m), before deciding if we will indeed climb on the Astraka (2486 m).

ASTRAKA (continued)

The snow is quite hard, in places even a little icy which forces us to put our knives on our skis. However, it allows us to move forward quickly and without too much effort. In places, where the slopes are the steepest and most exposed, we each take our turn. Arrived at the first summit, it is still early enough to launch an assault on Astraka.

 

Once at the top, the view is so beautiful that we do not regret for a second to have gone there and to have sweated so much. Being alone in the world on this snowy summit and contemplating these breathtaking landscapes is an incredible gift that nature offers us.

 

Once our skis are ready and after having contemplated the landscape, we attack the descent which makes us very happy despite a fairly compact snow. The last 600m of elevation must, like the climb, be done on foot, but we do it with a good heart with a magnificent view in front of us.

DSC_4659.jpg
photo numéro 2.jpg

Vikos Gorge

When traveling to northern Greece, stopping at Pindos National Park to see the Vikos Gorge is a must. The park, which also has dozens of ancient stone bridges, is located in the mountainous region of Epirus.

 

Until the 1950s, these bridges had an essential role in connecting the isolated surrounding villages. Paying for the construction or renovation of a bridge was a sign of wealth and conferred great prestige in the community, so each bridge was named after its patron.

 

This region is really rich in discoveries with its villages and their stone houses, its rivers whose clarity you never tire of, its impressive trees and its magnificent peaks.

Hector the malamute

We head towards the village of Pades, a somewhat remote village, but located at the foot of Smolikas, the second highest peak in Greece at 2637 m. 

 

We were given the address of a great hostel, the Munti Smolikas hostel, which organizes mountain biking, climbing and other sports activities. When we arrived there, there was no one there except for a HUGE dog, a very impressive malamute who greeted us happily barking, but who looked quite friendly.  Unfortunately, the owners of the hostel are absent, we still ask them, by sms, for advice on the different outings to do here. They offer us to park our van in front of their hostel to be able to take advantage of running water and access to the toilets.

 

We really want to do some skinning again and climb the Smolikas. However, the village is only at 1100 m altitude and there is snow only from 1600 m. We will, once again, have to carry our skis…

 

The next morning, before sunrise, we leave ready. Our skis are attached to our bags and Lucky is also by our side. Today, we also have the honor of having a guide: Hector the Malamute. At first, the two dogs didn't really like each other and Lucky was quite impressed, but after a while they started to get used to each other.

 

Due to a small route error and a leak from Lucky, at 11:30 a.m. we had only gained 1100 m in altitude and were only at the foot of Smolikas. The snow turns and the conditions become dangerous. We therefore decide not to continue climbing to the top and to let ourselves be guided by Hector who brings us back to the refuge.

DSC_5005.jpg
photo numéro 3.jpg

Ski trips with your dog

Close to the village of Anthchori, we plan to climb the Kalogiros summit on skis. As before each of our ski outings, when we prepare our things, Lucky is impatient to go and can no longer stand still. Snow is his element, it's where he feels best, he feels alive there and it makes us happy to see him like that. 

 

During our first outings with Lucky, on the climb, we let him run in all directions. His energy expenditure was such that he had none on the descent. Sevan therefore found himself having to wear it. On the strength of this experience, we decided to lead him on the climb.

 

He adapted to it very quickly and that did not prevent him from being very excited. As soon as we reach the top, Lucky, just like us, loves to admire the landscape. It's something he does consistently and we love to see. Sometimes it does that even on the way up.

 

On the descent, he likes to be in front, so he runs like an arrow behind us to try to catch up with us. We are so lucky to have met him, him with his desires which agree so well with ours. Having him with us and being able to share our passions together is an incredible opportunity.

Meteors

In Thessaly, in the Peneus valley, we discover what is probably one of the most beautiful wonders of Greece: Meteora!

 

Already from very far away, we can see these majestic rocky peaks appearing on the horizon, which seem straight out of a scene from Star Wars. The closer we get to them, the more their imposing size leaves us speechless, and this, even before having been able to observe one of the Monasteries which litter some of their peaks and seem to be clinging to the sky. The road that slaloms between these rock formations offers magnificent viewpoints and we travel it several times.

 

We visit the monastery, Megalou Meteoron, we discover some troglodyte constructions and we walk hoping to discover one or the other of the treasures that hide in this grandiose landscape.

 

We would like to be able to discover every nook and cranny of these stone giants, they fascinate us so much. One thing is sure, we will come back to rediscover this region of Greece that impressed us so much.

photo numéro 4.jpg
photo numéro 5.jpg

Mount Parnassus (2460m)

Not to be confused with the Mount Parnassus tower, no, it is indeed a summit which is located on a mountain very close to Athens and which overlooks two seas.

 

Arriving at the Parnasse ski resort, there is a huge amount of snow. The conditions are going to be crazy. On the other hand, it is a more extreme polar cold than what we have been able to experience so far. We had less than -20° at night.

 

And besides, that night, I woke up with my teeth chattering, because the heating no longer worked. According to the error code, there is a shortage of diesel, but it is impossible, the tank is still half full.

 

Sevan has the good idea to squirt boiling water on the diesel pipes outside, under the van, because he imagines that they could have frozen (not sure that in Greece there is diesel with the additives allowing it to withstand this kind of temperature). When he returned, the heating started up again, so the pipes were definitely frozen.

Mount Parnassus (continued)

We are frozen all three and it is not very pleasant before a ski outing. Lucky is cold and all curled up and shivering. So I cover him with my blanket while the van warms up.

 

We begin to prepare our things for our outing. We planned to go to Mount Parnassus, at an altitude of 2470 m. From this peak, we should be able to see two seas, the Myrto Sea and the Aegean Sea. 

 

From the station, we follow a snowy ridge to reach the first peak, Gerontobrachos. We are very cold, even after climbing 500 m, we have to keep our jackets on. Even Lucky, who is never cold, has pain in the pads. 

 

We are waiting for the sun, which should be soon, to see if it will warm us up or not. As soon as it arrives, it warms us enough to be able to continue to the next summit, the Toumporache.

 

From there, we admire Mount Parnassus, this beautiful mountain covered with a thick white powder just waiting to be traced. Feeling strongly tired after our short night, we nevertheless decide to turn around.

DJI_0195.jpg
photo numéro 6.jpg

The Prodromou Monastery

Below the village of Dimitsana, there are magnificent gorges and several monasteries. We decide to visit that of Prodromou which attracts us far away. It is like hanging on the cliff and we wonder how all this can hold. There seems to be activity, as from where we are we see smoke coming out of its chimneys. Along the way, we find ourselves face to face with two mules that the monks use to bring provisions to the monastery.

 

We are lucky, arrived at the monastery, a monk welcomes us and invites us to enter. Everything is calm and serene, it's really impressive. 

 

He offers us a Turkish coffee which we accept with pleasure. We exchange a few words and he explains to us that he has been here for 4 years and that there are 7 monks in the monastery which at the time housed 300! He also explains to us that they supply supplies twice a month on the backs of men and that the mules are here to transport the wood. What a life it must be!

 

We don't leave empty-handed, we offer ourselves one of their homemade olive oil soap as well as some lokoums that the monk offers us for the road.

Leonidio, the climbing village

This village leaves us speechless. When we arrive there, we admire the many cliffs in height and at the edge of the sea which surround the village. There is choice and variety. The spot that catches our eye is a cave that we see in the distance called Twin Caves. The different sectors mainly offer rinds (one-pitch routes), but there are also quite a few long ones.

 

We had been recommended this region for climbing and we do not regret having made the detour. There is so much to do that we could stay there for 2 months without any problem. We also learn that this is often what happens to tourist climbers. They come here for a week imagining visiting the rest of the country and end up staying the entire duration of their stays here. 

 

We stay here for only 3 days and discover three different sectors: Twin caves; Aresus; Panagia. We like all three very much and we love the type of climbing that can be done there. These sectors offer sees for climbers of all levels. Despite their popularity, the rock remains very grippy and you can climb there in front of a magnificent panorama.

photo numéro 7_edited.jpg
photo numéro 8.jpg

The theater of Epidaurus

We definitely wanted to see the ancient theater of Epidaurus, which was built in the 4th century BC. It is still very well preserved, with gray limestone steps, almost all original. This theater can accommodate nearly 12,000 spectators and is still used today for shows as part of the Epidaurus Festival.

 

This theater is known for its impressive acoustics. Wherever you are, in the stands, you can perfectly hear a speaker located in the center of the stage. If you take the place of the speaker, this is where the magic happens. When you speak or clap your hands, you have the impression that the area begins to reason. It is really impressive.

Athens and its acropolis

Our visit to Greece could not be done without stopping in Athens and its acropolis.

 

As we climb the short distance that separates us from the entrance to the acropolis, we are amazed. Admittedly, these monuments have been maintained, restored, and even rebuilt following conflicts, but it is no less remarkable and impressive to see what remains of them even today when several millennia have passed since the laying of the first block of marble. At a time when monuments are built more or less than for the duration of a sporting event, should we not take a look at these buildings from another era and question the durability of the stones that we lay or rather concrete that we pour. 

 

Coming back to our visit, walking in front of the Parthenon, the Erechtheion or one of the other monuments on the site, Sevan has its architectural history lessons that came to mind (the orders, the effects optics, etc). Even if it was not the subject that fascinated him the most, he would have liked to have his teachers by his side so that they could tell him a little more about these places.

photo numéro 9.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
DSC_5280_edited.jpg

GRECE

"Vivre intensément ne signifie pas vivre chaque jour comme si c'était le dernier, mais comme si c'était le premier."

Paul Carvel

Nous nous réjouissions énormément d’arriver en Grèce et nous ne sommes pas déçu, mais pas nécessairement pour les raisons auxquelles on penserait directement. En effet, nous sommes arrivés dans le pays au mois de mars et cette année il a neigé comme il ne neige presque jamais par ici. Nous avons donc eu l’occasion de faire de magnifiques sorties à ski tout en profitant de la vue sur la mer ce qui est tout bonnement magique ! 

 

Mais ce n’est pas tout! Dès que l’on redescend au bord de mer, les températures sont beaucoup plus douces. Près du mont Parnasse, on a, par exemple, passé de -20°C à 15°C en mois de 24h et en ne roulant que 30 minutes. Avec ces températures, les conditions étaient donc parfaites pour la pratique du vtt, de la grimpe et bien d’autres encore.

 

Nous avons également été marqués par la gentillesse et la générosité des gens. Le lendemain de mon anniversaire, nous avons eu le droit à un parfait exemple de cette générosité. En effet, alors que nous étions parqués directement au bord de la mer, un pêcheur et venu nous voir pour nous offrir un cornet rempli de poulpe, plus de 2,5 kg, que lui et sa femme venaient de pêcher et de nettoyer. 

 

Alors certes, quand on voyage comme nous, on ne peut pas se permettre d’aller tous les jours au restaurant, mais les quelques fois où nous nous sommes offert ce luxe, nous n’avons pas été dessus!

DSC_4686_edited.jpg

Astraka 2486 m

Mikro Papingo est un petit village de montagne plein de charme qui vaut le détour. Il est implanté dans une vallée entourée de montagnes et de rivières le tout relié par de nombreux chemins pédestres. Le village est parcouru par des petites ruelles pavées et étroites. Ces dernières zigzagent entre de vieilles et belles maisons en pierres sèches qui abritent de petits restaurants qui semblent plus succulents les uns que les autres!

 

Juste au-dessus du village, il y a une montagne, l’Astraka que nous aimerions bien gravir à ski. Cependant, nous savons qu’il y a suffisamment de neige qu’à partir de 1500m alors que nous nous trouvons à seulement 950m. Il nous faudra donc porter nos skis pour les 500-600 premiers mètres de dénivelé. 

 

Le lendemain matin, nous disons au revoir à Lucky qui ne nous accompagne pas pour cette sortie, car elle est trop longue pour lui. Bien fatigué après avoir porté nos skis sur 600 m de dénivelée positifs, nous nous retrouvons juste en face de la pente la plus raide du premier itinéraire. Après quelques fruits secs, nous nous y lançons et montons sur un premier sommet, le Kalogeros (2112 m), avant de décider si nous monterons en effet sur l’Astraka (2486 m).

ASTRAKA (suite)

La neige est assez dure, par endroit même un peu glacé ce qui nous oblige à mettre nos couteaux sur nos skis. Elle nous permet néanmoins d’avancer vite et sans trop d’efforts. Par endroit, là où les pentes sont les plus raides et les plus exposées, nous passons chacun notre tour. Arrivé au premier sommet, il est encore suffisamment tôt pour nous lancer à l’assaut de l’Astraka.

 

Une fois en haut, la vue est tellement belle que nous ne regrettons pas une seconde d’y être allés et d’avoir tant sué. Être seul au monde sur ce sommet enneigé et contempler ces paysages à couper le souffle c’est un cadeau incroyable que nous offre la nature.

 

Une fois nos skis prêts et après avoir contemplé le paysage, nous attaquons la descente qui nous fait bien plaisir malgré une neige assez compacte. Les derniers 600m de dénivelé doivent, comme à la montée, se faire à pied, mais nous le faisons de bon coeur avec devant nous une magnifique vue.

DSC_4659.jpg
photo numéro 2.jpg

Gorges du Vikos

Lorsqu’on se rend dans le nord de la Grèce, l’arrêt au parc national du Pindos pour aller voir les Gorges du Vikos est une étape obligatoire. Le parc, qui dispose aussi de plusieurs dizaines de ponts antiques en pierres, est  située la région montagneuse de l’Épire.

 

Jusque dans les années 1950, ces ponts avaient un rôle essentiel pour relier les villages environnants isolés. Payer pour la construction ou la rénovation d’un pont était un signe de richesse et conférait un grand prestige dans la communauté, si bien que chaque pont porte le nom de son mécène.

 

Cette région est vraiment riche en découvertes avec ses villages et leurs maisons en pierres, ses rivières dont on ne se lasse pas de la clarté, ses arbres d'une grande impressionnante et ses magnifiques sommets.

Hector le malamute

Nous nous dirigeons en direction du village de Pades, un village quelque peu reculé, mais situé au pied du Smolikas, le deuxième plus haut sommet de Grèce à 2637 m. 

 

On nous a donné l'adresse d'une auberge super, l’auberge Munti Smolikas, qui organise des sorties à VTT, de grimpe ainsi que d’autres activités sportives. À notre arrivée sur place, il n'y a personne à part un ÉNORME chien, un malamute très impressionnant qui nous accueille joyeusement en aboyant, mais qui a l’air plutôt sympa.  Malheureusement, les propriétaires de l'auberge sont absents, nous leur demandons quand même, par sms, des conseils pour les différentes sorties à faire ici. Il nous proposent de garer notre van devant leur auberge pour pouvoir profiter de l’eau courante et de l’accès aux toilettes.

 

Nous avons très envie de refaire de la peau de phoque et de gravir le Smolikas. Cependant, le village n'est qu'à 1100 m d'altitude et il y a de la neige qu’à partir de 1600 m. On va, une nouvelle fois, devoir porter nos skis…

 

Le lendemain matin, avant le lever du soleil, nous partons fin prêts. Nos skis sont attachés sur nos sacs et Lucky est également à nos côtés. Aujourd’hui, nous avons également l’honneur d’avoir un guide : Hector le malamute. Au départ, les deux chiens ne s’apprécient pas vraiment et Lucky est assez impressionné, mais après un moment ils commencent à s’habituer l’un à l’autre.

 

À cause d’une petite erreur de parcours et d’une fuite de Lucky, à 11h30, nous n’avons fait que 1100 m de dénivelé et ne sommes qu’au pied du Smolikas. La neige tourne et les conditions deviennent dangereuses. Nous décidons donc de ne pas continuer à monter jusqu'en haut et de nous laisser guider par Hector qui nous ramène au refuge.

DSC_5005.jpg
photo numéro 3.jpg

Les sorties à ski avec son chien

Proche du village d'Anthchori, nous prévoyons de gravir à ski, le sommet Kalogiros. Comme avant chacune de nos sorties à ski, lorsque nous préparons nos affaires, Lucky est impatient d’y aller et ne tient plus en place. La neige c’est son élément, c’est là ou il se sent le mieux, il s’y sent vivant et ça nous rend heureux de le voir comme ça. 

 

Lors de nos premières sorties avec Lucky, à la montée, nous le laissions courir dans tous les sens. Sa dépense d’énergie était telle qu’il n’en avait plus à la descente. Sevan s’est donc retrouvé à devoir le porter. Forts de cette expérience, nous avons décidé de le tenir en longe à la montée.

 

Il s’y est très vite adapté et ça ne l’empêche pas d’être tout excité. Dès que nous arrivons au sommet, Lucky, tout comme nous, adore admirer le paysage. C’est quelque chose qu’il fait systématiquement et que nous adorons voir. Parfois, il fait ça même à la montée.

 

À la descente, il aime être devant, alors il court comme une flèche derrière nous pour essayer de nous rattraper. Nous avons tellement de chance de l’avoir rencontré, lui avec ses envies qui s’accordent tellement bien avec les nôtres. L’avoir auprès de nous et de pouvoir partager nos passions ensemble est une chance inouïe.

Les météores

En Thessalie, dans la vallée du Pénée, nous découvrons ce qui est probablement l’une des plus belles merveilles de Grèce : les Météores !

 

De très loin déjà, nous voyons se dessiner sur l’horizon ces majestueux pitons rocheux qui semblent tout droit tirés d’une scène de Star Wars. Plus nous nous en approchons, plus leur imposante taille nous laisse sans voix, et cela, avant même d’avoir pu observer l’un des Monastères qui jonchent quelques-uns de leurs sommets et semblent comme accrochés au ciel. La route qui slalome entre ces formations rocheuses offre de magnifiques points de vue et nous la parcourons plusieurs fois.

 

Nous visitons le monastère, Megalou Meteoron, nous découvrons quelques constructions troglodytes et nous nous promenons en espérant découvrir l’un ou l’autre des trésors qui se cachent dans ce paysage grandiose.

 

Nous aurions envie de pouvoir découvrir chaque coin et recoins de ces géants de pierres tellement ils nous fascinent. Une chose est sure, nous reviendrons pour redécouvrir cette région de la Grèce qui nous a tant impressionnées.

photo numéro 4.jpg
photo numéro 5.jpg

Mont Parnasse (2460m)

À ne pas confondre avec la tour Mont Parnasse, non c’est bel et bien un sommet qui se trouve sur une montagne tout proche d’Athene et qui surplombe deux mers.

 

En arrivant à la station de ski Parnasse, il y a une quantité énorme de neige. Les conditions vont être folles. Par contre, il fait un froid polaire plus extrême que ce que nous avons pu expérimentés jusqu'à maintenant. Nous avons eu moins de -20° la nuit.

 

Et d’ailleurs, cette nuit-là, je me réveille en claquant des dents, car le chauffage ne fonctionne plus. Selon le code erreur, il manquerait du diesel, mais c'est impossible, le réservoir est encore à moitié plein.

 

Sevan a la bonne idée d'aller gicler de l'eau bouillante sur les conduits de diesel à l’extérieur, sous le van, car il imagine qu’elles auraient pu geler (pas sûr qu’en Grèce on trouve du diesel avec les additifs lui permettant de supporter ce genre de températures). À son retour, le chauffage se remet en route, les tuyaux étaient donc bel et bien gelés.

Mont Parnasse (suite)

Nous sommes congelés tous les trois et ce n’est pas très agréable avant une sortie à ski. Lucky a froid et est tout recroquevillé et grelotte. Je le couvre donc avec ma couverture le temps que le van se réchauffe.

 

Nous commençons à préparer nos affaires pour notre sortie. Nous avons prévu d'aller sur le mont Parnasse, à 2470 m d'altitude. Depuis ce sommet, nous devrions pouvoir voir deux mers, la mer de Myrto et la mer Égée. 

 

Depuis la station, nous longeons une crête enneigée pour nous rendre sur le premier sommet, le Gerontobrachos. Nous avons très froid, même après avoir fait 500 m de dénivelé, nous devons garder notre doudoune. Même Lucky, qui n'a jamais froid, a mal aux coussinets. 

 

Nous attendons le soleil, qui ne devrait pas tarder, pour voir s’il va nous réchauffer ou non. Dès son arrivée, il nous réchauffe suffisamment pour pouvoir continuer jusqu'au prochain sommet, le Toumporache.

 

Depuis là, nous admirons le mont Parnasse, cette belle montagne recouverte d'une poudre blanche et épaisse qui n'attend qu'à être tracée. Ressentant fortement la fatigue après notre courte nuit, nous décidons néanmoins de faire demi-tour.

DJI_0195.jpg
photo numéro 6.jpg

Le monastère Prodromou

En contrebas du village de Dimitsana, il y a des gorges magnifiques et plusieurs monastères. Nous décidons de visiter celui de Prodromou qui nous attire au loin. Il est comme suspendu à la falaise et nous nous demandons comme tout cela peut tenir. Il semble y avoir de l’activité, car, d’où nous sommes, nous voyons de la fumée sortir de ses cheminées. En chemin, nous nous retrouvons nez à nez avec deux mulets que les moines utilisent pour apporter des provisions au monastère.

 

Nous avons la chance, arrivés au monastère, un moine nous accueil et nous invite à entrer. Tout y est calme et serein, c'est vraiment impressionnant. 

 

Il nous propose un café turc que nous acceptons avec plaisir. Nous échangeons quelques mots et il nous explique qu'il est ici depuis 4 ans et qu'ils sont 7 moines dans le monastère qui à l’époque en abritait 300! Il nous explique également qu'ils font les ravitaillements 2x par mois à dos d'homme et que les mulets sont ici pour le transport du bois. Quelle vie ça doit être!

 

Nous ne repartons pas les mains vides, nous nous offrons un de leur savon à l’huile d’olive fait maison ainsi que quelques lokoums que le moine nous offre pour la route.

Leonidio, le village de la grimpe

Ce village nous laisse sans voix. Lorsque nous y arrivons, nous admirons les nombreuses falaises en hauteur et au bord de la mer qui entourent le village. Il y a du choix et de la diversité. Le spot qui nous fait de l’oeil, c’est une grotte que nous voyons au loin nommée Twin Caves. Les différents secteurs proposent principalement des couennes (voies d’une longueur), mais on y trouve aussi pas mal de longues.

 

On nous avait conseillé cette région pour la grimpe et nous ne regrettons pas d'avoir fait le détour. Il y a tellement à faire que nous pourrions y rester 2 mois sans problème. Nous apprenons d'ailleurs que c'est souvent ce qui arrive aux touristes grimpeurs. Ils viennent ici une semaine en imaginant visiter le reste du pays et finissent par rester toute la durée de leurs séjours ici. 

 

Nous, nous restons ici que 3 jours et découvrons trois secteurs différents :Twin caves ; Aresos ; Panagia. Tous les trois nous plaisent beaucoup et nous adorons le type de grimpe qu’on peut y faire. Ces secteurs proposent des voient pour les grimpeurs de tout niveau. Malgré leur popularité, la roche y reste bien grippant et on peut y grimper devant un panorama magnifique.

photo numéro 7_edited.jpg
photo numéro 8.jpg

Le théâtre d’Épidaure

Nous voulions absolument voir l'ancien théâtre d'Épidaure, qui a été construit au IVe siècle av. J.-C. Il est encore très bien conservé, muni de gradins de calcaire gris, presque tous d'origine. Ce théâtre peut accueillir pas loin de 12 mille spectateurs et est aujourd’hui encore utilisé pour des spectacles dans le cadre du Festival d’Épidaure.

 

Ce théâtre est connu pour son acoustique impressionnante. Où que l’on se trouve, dans les gradins, on entend parfaitement un orateur situé au centre de la scène. Si l’on prend la place de l’orateur, c’est là que la magie opère. Lorsque l’on parle ou que l’on tape dans ses mains, on a l’impression que l’aire se met à raisonner. C’est vraiment impressionnant.

Athènes et son acropole

Notre passage en Grèce ne pouvait se faire sans faire une halte à Athènes et à son acropole.

 

Au moment de monter la courte distance qui nous sépare de l’entrée de l’acropole, nous en prenons plein les yeux. Certes, ces monuments ont été entretenus, restaurés, voire même reconstruits à la suite de conflits, mais il n’en est pas moins remarquable et impressionnant de voir ce qu’il en reste aujourd’hui encore alors que plusieurs millénaires ont passé depuis la pose du premier bloc de marbre. À une époque où des monuments sont construits plus ou moins que pour la durée d’un événement sportif, ne devrions-nous pas jeter un coup d’oeil vers ces bâtiments d’une autre époque et questionner la pérennité des pierres que nous posons ou plutôt du béton que nous coulons. 

 

Revenons-en à notre visite, en marchant devant le Parthénon, l’Erechthéion ou l’un des autres monuments présents sur le site, Sevan a ses cours d’histoire d’architecture qui lui sont revenus en tête (les ordres, les effets d’optique, etc.). Même si ça n’était pas la matière qui le passionnait le plus, il aurait bien aimé avoir ses professeurs à ses côtés pour qu’ils lui en disent un peu plus sur ces lieux.

photo numéro 9.jpg
bottom of page