top of page
Z6P_4299.jpg

IRAN

"To stay is to exist, to travel is to live !"

Gustave Nabaud

We were impatiently waiting to discover Iran and we were not there, despite the situation in the country. Whatever the tensions they experience, Iranians remain extremely welcoming and positive. We are touched and marked by the countless encounters made in this country. You have to live it to understand it.

NOVEMBER 2023

VISA - agency fees 35 euros/person, visa cost 50 euros/person for 45 to 60 days.* (*more info below)

EXCHANGE - Between 295 and 500 Rials/USD*

VEHICLE - Customs clearance book (CPD) or register provisionally in the country. Please note, American brand vehicles prohibited.

DOG - Vaccination against rabies for 30 to 365 days, microchip to ISO 11784/11785 standard, import permit to be filed in person with the veterinary services, health certificate.

- Dog-related information is rarely checked at land customs

- In most cities in Iran, it is forbidden to walk with a dog.

SIM - 18 GB for 2 USD at Irancell.

- VPN essential before entering the country

- sim cards work max. 30 days per sim card slot.

DIESEL -  0.00 and 0.50CHF/L*

INSURANCE - sometimes Iran is covered by European insurance.

OTHER - Ta’ârof is a set of rules that manage interactions between people. According to this code of politeness, you have to offer things to others even if you don't really want them. So it is customary in Iran to refuse up to 3 times what we are offered to be sure that it is a gift and not just politeness. 

- No foreign bank cards work in the country. Therefore, it is essential to stock up on US dollars before entering Iran.

THINGS TO KNOW

Visa

There are two ways to obtain a tourist visa for Iran. The first which consists of making your request directly on the sitewww.evisa.mfa.ir. The second is to contact an agency (Overland to Iran for example) so that they can take the steps for us.

Many traveler stories mention a visa refusal on the evisa website, whereas when going through an agency, most of the time the visa is granted. The validity period of tourist visas varies between 15 and 60 days. In the majority of large cities, these can be extended for up to three months.

Costs :

  • agency 35 euros/person

  • Visa 50 Euros/person to be paid at the embassy;

Exchange

For various reasons, Iran is experiencing high inflation. So during our first visit to the country, we obtained 295 rials per USD (fall 2022). In December 2023, during our second visit to the country, we obtained 500 rials/USD.

There is a strong difference between the official exchange rate and that practiced in the country. The latter can be consulted on: www.bonbast.com.

Please note, on the Bonbast website, as most of the time in Iran, prices are indicated in Toman (1 Toman = 10 Rials).

Fill up

The official price of diesel in Iran is 300 rials/L. However, since it is necessary to have a quota card to obtain fuel, as a foreigner, you cannot refuel as you usually would. 

There are two solutions to work around this problem. The first is to find a station with a quota card for foreign vehicles. Unfortunately, pump attendants have the unfortunate tendency to inflate prices to make good margins. We nevertheless found a gas station, in the Zahedan region, where there was a sign indicating diesel was free for foreign travelers.

 

The other solution is to go directly to ask for fuel from the truck drivers. We have noticed that often, when we ask them for less than 40 liters, they agree to sell it to us at cost price or even want to offer it to us.

Regarding the quality of fuel in the country, it varies greatly. The best diesel we found is Euro 4. To ensure that it is also clean and free of water marks, we were always looking for stations with busy traffic and where we could see recent trucks.

photo 1.jpg

Kandovan

The village of Kandovan is largely troglodyte. Its houses, dug out of the stone, are very similar to those we discovered in Cappadocia, except that here they are still occupied by their inhabitants.

 

We are also lucky to be able to enter these houses, where we discover beautiful Iranian carpets which are a sign of wealth for the inhabitants here.

Masouleh

This village is known for its typical brown houses built in stairs to best settle on the slope. The roofs of the lower houses serve as a terrace for the upper houses, it's super pretty despite the very touristy side of the place.

photo 2.jpg
photo 3.jpg

Alam-kuh 4,850 m

There are a few high peaks that catch our eye in Iran, including Alam Kuh which is in the Elbrus mountain range and is the second highest peak in the country.

 

We make this outing accompanied by Charlène, a friend who came from Switzerland to visit us and to discover Iran. What a pleasure to be able to share these moments in our trip with one of our loved ones!

 

In the village of Vandarbon, we take a track that leads us to the start of our outing. We still have 1500 m of elevation gain and 7 km to the top.

 

The next morning, we get up at 4:30 a.m. for a 5:30 a.m. departure. We savor the beautiful colors of the morning. The climb is going very well, apart from a cool wind that cools us down somewhat when we stop.

 

We arrive at the summit of Alam Kuh at 4,850 m, with a view of all the surrounding peaks. We stay almost 1 hour up there so much that it is beautiful.

Nomads

On the track that leads us to the start of our outing to Alam Kuh, we see a herd of sheep that we photograph in this idyllic landscape. A man comes out of his little hut and invites us to drink the chai. We meet three gentlemen with whom we communicate with gestures. We still come to understand that they are from Afghanistan and they work here moving their sheep from mountain to mountain. They also let us know that they have 60,000 sheep and goats with them.

 

We have a great time, even if we are a little disappointed not to be able to understand them more, because their way of life does not leave us indifferent.

photo 4.jpg
photo 5.jpg

Climb

On our climbing app “the crag”, we see several climbing routes. We stop in the village of Pol-e-khab, a site that seems popular to us. Unfortunately, the quotations do not correspond to the one we are used to, indeed, they use the American standard instead of the French standard and we do not understand much about it. We ask for information from one of the climbing teachers on site who explains the ratings to us.

 

We climb a few routes each and have a lot of fun. The pebble is super pleasant to climb and the view is magnificent of the mountains opposite.

Agha Bozorg Mosque

In the city of Kashan, at the end of the day, we visit the Agha Bozorg Mosque and the End Garden. We admire the light of the end of the day illuminating the mosque thus making, with all these beautiful colors, the place fabulous.

end garden

The end garden is one of the most beautiful gardens in Iran. We discover its many ponds, fountains and its large and old trees. It is in a calm and serene place, which we find really beautiful. 

Abyaneh

Abyaneh is a small village located in the middle of the mountains south of Kashan. It is known for its typical wooden and red clay constructions. 

 

The village is beautiful and we like to walk there. There we meet a gentleman who is in the process of restoring the facade of his house. It mixes earth, with its characteristic colour, straw and water. It is with the help of this mixture that he plasters his facades. We can imagine that clay is a great help in keeping the interior of houses cool.

photo 8.jpg

Isfahan

The main square of Isfahan is just sublime with this greenery, its mosques and its palace. From its center we can see the bazaar that surrounds the square and makes it very dynamic. The bazaar offers many local products, each one more beautiful than the other.

Ghurtan Citadel

The Ghurtan citadel is considered to be the second largest citadel in the country. However, it is largely in ruins, despite the village's desire to preserve it. All the buildings there are built of rammed earth and are therefore extremely sensitive to rain and require rigorous maintenance to remain in good condition. 

 

We are very quickly joined by a handful of locals, many of them children. As we begin to walk through the alleys, it is hard to imagine that people still live here because the buildings are in such poor condition. But our impression is quickly put in fault when we pass in front of a door which opens with our passage and reveals its inhabitants to us.

photo 10..jpg
photo 11.jpg

Varrzaneh Desert

This is the first desert we have discovered since the beginning of our trip. We discover large dunes with such varied shapes that give us only one desire, to go for a walk there and feel the sand under our feet. 

 

The most beautiful moments are those at sunset. The light makes the dunes orange.

Al-Mulk Mosque

In Shiraz, there are many things we would like to experience. The first of these is the Nasir Al-Mulk Mosque which is particularly known for its large, colorful bay windows. 

 

In the morning, when the sun is still low and its rays pass through these stained glass windows, the main room of the mosque lights up with a thousand colors. It is this painting that we discover when we arrive on site at the opening and we are lucky enough to find ourselves there, for a moment, almost alone. 

photo 12..jpg
photo 13.jpg

Shah Cheragh Holy Shrine

A terrorist attack took place less than a week ago in this place so important to the inhabitants, causing 14 deaths. Despite this tragic event, a guide commissioned by Foreign Affairs can show you around. 

 

The Shrine is made up of several courtyards and buildings, including the Shah Cheragh Mosque. The whole is just sublime and the finesse of the finishes of the tiled and mirrored mosaics, the woodwork and the stained glass windows is just astounding.

 

By visiting the mosque, which cannot be accessed through the main door, we discover a volume where the light seems to be festive. Indeed, the rays of the sun, after passing through the stained glass windows, can give free rein to their imagination and jump from one mirrored mosaic to another giving these pieces a diamond appearance. Except that here, instead of admiring diamonds from the outside, we admire them from the inside!

bottom of page

top of page
Z6P_4299.jpg

IRAN

"Rester c’est exister, voyager, c’est vivre !"

Gustave Nabaud

Nous attendions avec impatience de découvrir l’Iran et nous n’avons pas été dessus, et ce malgré la situation dans le pays. Quel que soient les tentions qu’ils vivent, les Iraniens restent extrêmement accueillants et positifs. Nous sommes touchés et marqués par les innombrables rencontres faites dans ce pays. Il faut le vivre pour le comprendre.

NOVEMBRE 2023

VISA - frais d'agence 35 euros/ personne, coût du visa 50 euros / personne pour 45 à 60 jours.* (*plus d'infos ci-dessous)

CHANGE - Entre 295 et 500 Rials/USD*

VEHICULE - Carnet de passage en douane (CPD) ou immatriculer provisoirement dans le pays. Attention, véhicules de marque Américaine interdits.

CHIEN - Vaccination contre la rage de 30 à 365 jours, puce à la norme iso 11784/11785, permis d’importation à déposer en personne auprès des services vétérinaires, certificat sanitaire.

- Les informations liées aux chiens sont rarement vérifiées aux douanes terrestres

- Dans la plupart des villes en Iran, il est interdit de se promener avec un chien.

SIM - 18 GB pour 2 USD chez Irancell.

- VPN indispensable avant d'entrer dans le pays

- les cartes sim fonctionnent max. 30 jours par slot de carte sim.

DIESEL -  0,00 et 0,50CHF/L*

ASSURANCE - quelques fois l'Iran est couvert par les assurances européens.

AUTRE - Le Ta’ârof est un ensemble de règles qui gèrent les interactions entre les gens. Selon ce code de politesse, il faut proposer des choses aux autres même si l’on ne le veut pas vraiment. Ainsi il est d’usage en Iran de refuser jusqu’à 3 fois ce qu’on nous propose pour être sûr que c’est un cadeau et non pas juste de la politesse. 

- Aucune carte bancaire étrangère ne fonctionne dans le pays. Ainsi, il est indispensable de faire des réserves de dollars US avant d’entrer en Iran.

CHOSES A SAVOIR

Visa

Il y a deux façons d’obtenir un visa de tourisme pour l’Iran. La première qui consiste à faire sa demande directement sur le site www.evisa.mfa.ir. La seconde est de contacter une agence (Overland to Iran par exemple) pour qu’elle fasse les démarches à notre place.

De nombreux récits de voyageurs mentionnent un refus de visa sur le site evisa alors qu’en passant par une agence, la plupart du temps le visa est accordé. La durée de validité des visas de tourisme varie entre 15 et 60 jours. Dans la majorité des grandes villes, ceux-ci peuvent être prolongés jusqu’à trois mois.

Coûts :

  • agence 35 euros/personne

  • Visa 50 Euros/personne à payer à l’ambassade 

Change

Pour différentes raisons, l’Iran subit une forte inflation. Ainsi lors de notre premier passage dans le pays, nous obtenions 295 rials par USD (automne 2022). En décembre 2023, lors de notre second passage dans le pays, nous obtenions 500 rials/USD.

Il y a une forte différence entre le taux de change officiel et celui pratiqué dans le pays. Ce dernier peut être consulté sur : www.bonbast.com.

Attention, sur le site Bonbast, comme la plupart du temps en Iran, les prix sont indiqués en Toman (1 Toman = 10 Rials).

Faire le plein

Le prix officiel du diesel en Iran est de 300 rials/L. Néanmoins, étant donné qu’il est nécessaire d’avoir une carte de quota pour obtenir du carburant, en temps qu’étranger, on ne peut pas faire le plein comme on le ferait habituellement. 

Il existe deux solutions pour contourner ce problème. La première est de trouver une station disposant d’une carte de quota pour les véhicules étrangers. Malheureusement, les pompistes ont la fâcheuse tendance à gonfler les prix pour se faire de belles marges. Nous avons néanmoins trouvé une station service, dans la région de Zahedan, où il y avait un panneau indiquant le diesel était gratuit pour les voyageurs étrangers.

 

L’autre solution est d’aller directement demander du carburant aux routiers. Nous avons constaté que souvent, lorsqu’on leur demande moins de 40 litres, ceux-ci acceptent de nous le vendre au prix coutant ou veulent même nous l’offrir.

En ce qui concerne la qualité du carburant dans le pays, cette dernière est très variable. Lle meilleur diesel que nous avons trouvé est de l’Euro 4. Afin de garantir que ce dernier soit également propre et sans traces d’eau, nous cherchions toujours des stations servie avec du passage et où nous pouvions voir des camions récents.

photo 1.jpg

Kandovan

Le village de Kandovan est en grande partie troglodyte. Ses maisons, creusées à même la pierre, ressemblent beaucoup à celles que nous avons pu découvrir en Cappadoce à la différence qu’ici, elles sont encore occupées par leurs habitants.

 

Nous avons d’ailleurs la chance de pouvoir entrer dans ces maisons, où nous découvrons de beaux tapis iraniens qui sont un signe de richesse pour les habitants d’ici.

Masouleh

Ce village est connu pour ses maisons typiques brunes construites en escalier pour s’implanter au mieux dans la pente. Les toitures des maisons inférieures servent de terrasse aux maisons supérieures, c'est super joli malgré le côté très touristique de l’endroit.

photo 2.jpg
photo 3.jpg

Alam-kuh 4 850 m

Il y a quelques hauts sommets qui nous font de l'œil en Iran, notamment l’Alam Kuh qui se trouve dans la chaîne de montagnes Elbrouz et qui est le deuxième plus haut sommet du pays.

 

Nous faisons cette sortie accompagnée de Charlène, une amie venue de Suisse pour nous rendre visite et pour découvrir l’Iran. Quel bonheur de pouvoir partager ces moments dans notre voyage avec l’un de nos proches!

 

Dans le village de Vandarbon, nous empruntons une piste qui nous mène au départ de notre sortie. Il nous reste 1500 m de dénivelé et 7 km jusqu'au sommet.

 

Le lendemain matin, nous nous levons à 4 h 30 pour un départ à 5 h 30. Nous savourons les belles couleurs du matin. La montée se passe très bien, mis à part un vent frais qui nous refroidit quelque peu lorsque nous nous arrêtons.

 

Nous arrivons au sommet du Alam Kuh à 4 850 m, avec une vue sur tous les sommets aux alentours. Nous restons presque 1 heure là-haut tellement que c'est beau.

Les Nomades

Sur la piste qui nous mène au départ de notre sortie à l’Alam Kuh, nous voyons un troupeau de moutons que nous photographions dans ce paysage idyllique. Un homme sort de sa petite cabane et nous invite à boire le chai. Nous rencontrons trois messieurs avec qui nous communiquons avec les gestes. Nous arrivons quand même à comprendre qu'ils viennent d'Afghanistan et qu’ils travaillent ici en déplaçant leurs moutons de montagne en montagne. Ils nous font également comprendre qu'ils ont 60'000 moutons et chèvres avec eux.

 

Nous passons un super bon moment, même si nous sommes un peu déçus de ne pas pouvoir les comprendre davantage, car leur mode de vie ne nous laisse pas indifférents.

photo 4.jpg
photo 5.jpg

Grimpe

Sur notre application de grimpe « the crag », nous voyons plusieurs voies d’escalade. Nous nous arrêtons dans le village de Pol-e-khab, un site qui nous a l’air populaire. Malheureusement, les cotations ne correspondent pas à celle dont nous avons l’habitude, en effet, ils utilisent la norme américaine au lieu de la norme française et nous n'y comprenons pas grand-chose. Nous demandons des infos à l’un des profs de grimpe sur place qui nous explique les cotations.

 

Nous grimpons quelques voies chacun et nous avons beaucoup de plaisir. Le caillou est super agréable à grimper et la vue est magnifique sur les montagnes en face.

Mosquée Agha Bozorg

Dans la ville de Kashan, en fin de journée, nous visitons la mosquée Agha Bozorg et le jardin de fin. Nous admirons la lumière de la fin de journée illuminer la mosquée rendant ainsi, avec toutes ces belles couleurs, l’endroit fabuleux.

Jardin de fin

Le jardin de fin compte parmi les plus beaux jardins d’Iran. Nous découvrons ses nombreux bassins, fontaines et ses grands et vieux arbres. C'est en endroit calme et serein, que nous trouvons vraiment beau. 

Abyaneh

Abyaneh est un petit village implanté au milieu des montagnes au sud de Kashan. Il est connu pour ses constructions typiques en bois et en terre battue rouge. 

 

Le village est beau et nous aimons y déambuler. Nous y faisons la connaissance d’un monsieur qui est en train de ravaler la façade sa maison. Il mélange de la terre, à la couleur si caractéristique, de la paille et de l’eau. C’est à l’aide de ce mélange qu’il crépit ses façades. Nous pouvons imaginer que la terre battue soit d’une grande aide afin de garder de la fraîcheur à l’intérieur des maisons.

photo 8.jpg

Ispahan

La grande place d’Isfahan est juste sublime avec cette verdure, ses mosquées et son palais. De son centre, nous pouvons voir le bazar qui entoure la place et qui la rend très dynamique. Le bazar offre beaucoup de produits locaux plus beaux les uns que les autres.

Citadelle de Ghurtan

La citadelle Ghurtan est considérée comme étant la seconde plus grande citadelle du pays. Elle est cependant en grande partie en ruine, et ce malgré la volonté du village de la conserver. L’ensemble des bâtiments qui s’y trouvent sont construits en terre battue et sont donc extrêmement sensibles aux pluies et nécessitent un entretien rigoureux pour rester en état. 

 

Nous sommes très vite rejoints par une poignée de locaux, dont de nombreux enfants .Au moment où nous commençons à marcher dans les ruelles, il est difficile d’imaginer que des gens vivent encore ici tellement les bâtiments sont en mauvais état. Mais notre impression est rapidement mise en faute lorsque nous passons devant une porte qui s’ouvre à notre passage et nous révèle ses habitants.

photo 10..jpg
photo 11.jpg

Desert de Varrzaneh

C’est le premier désert que nous découvrons depuis le début de notre voyage. Nous découvrons des grandes dunes aux formes si variées qui nous donne qu’une envie, aller nous y promener et sentir le sable sous nos pieds. 

 

Les plus beaux moments sont ceux au moment du coucher du soleil. La lumière rend les dunes orange.

Mosquée Al-Mulk

À Shiraz, il y a de nombreuses choses que nous aimerions découvrir. La première d’entre elles est la mosquée Nasir Al-Mulk qui est particulièrement connue pour ses grandes baies vitrées colorées. 

 

Le matin, lorsque le soleil est encore bas et que ses rayons travers ces vitraux, la pièce principale de la mosquée s’illumine de mille couleurs. C’est ce tableau que nous découvrons en arrivant sur place dès l’ouverture et nous avons la chance de nous y retrouver, l’espace d’un instant, presque seul. 

photo 12..jpg
photo 13.jpg

Shah Cheragh Holy Shrine

Une attaque terroriste a eu lieu il y a moins d’une semaine dans ce lieu si important aux yeux des habitants, occasionnant 14 morts. Malgré cet événement tragique, une guide mandatée par les affaires étrangères peut faire visiter les lieux. 

 

La Shrine est composée de plusieurs cours et bâtiments, notamment la mosquée de Shah Cheragh. L’ensemble est juste sublime et la finesse des finissions des mosaïques en carrelage et en miroir, des boiseries et des vitraux est juste ahurissant.

 

En visitant la mosquée, à laquelle ne pouvons pas accéder par la porte principale, nous découvrons un volume où la lumière semble être à la fête. En effet, les rayons du soleil, après avoir traversé les vitraux, peuvent donner libre cours à leur imagination et sauter d’une mosaïque en miroir à l’autre donnant à ces pièces un aspect de diamant. Sauf qu’ici, au lieu d’admirer les diamants de l’extérieur, on les admire de l’intérieur !

bottom of page