top of page
DSC_4335.jpg

MONTENEGRO

"The best encounters are always unexpected."

Simon Lafage

Once we arrived in Montenegro, we fell in love with the country, whether in terms of the landscape or the encounters we had there. Obviously, we weren't going to say otherwise, given the story we're going to experience here. One thing is certain, Montenegro will remain etched in our memories forever.

photo numéro 1.jpg

The unexpected

As you already knew, we have designed and thought our van around sport to discover the world through our passions. We never imagined that the van could receive another traveler than us. In any case, it was neither our plan nor our intention.

 

Let's be honest, if it weren't for a bit of the unexpected in our lives, it would be kind of boring, right? The routine of the trip catching up with us nicely, it was perhaps time for us to shake things up a bit.

 

Life is full of surprises and the unexpected, fortunately!

The encounter

This meeting begins near the ski resort of Zablajk. The snow-capped mountains catch our eye and we have only one desire: to climb them on skis. So we leave, a little before sunrise, with the objective of climbing the Vrh Šljemena with its 2455 m. At the foot of the mountain, on one of its sides, we see in the distance a small black dog with great physical shape, which trudges from summit to summit, barking with “joy”.

 

This independent-looking dog, at times he comes towards us and at other times we see him leave chasing animals. It looks like he has found his companions for the day anyway. He gives us the impression of wanting to stay by our side and this desire is mutual. We decide to name him Pépère. It is with him that we arrive at the top of the summit and contemplate the landscape, which he seems to love to watch.

 

Sevan and I met on skis at the top of Pic Chaussy, a mountain in Switzerland. We continue on the same path, with Pépère at the top of Vrh Šljemena in Montenegro. We don't know exactly what happens on these mountains, but we meet incredible people there, that's for sure.

photo numéro 3.jpg

The upheaval

We ski down to the van and Pépère seems to want to follow us. While we put away our things, he takes his ease. He sleeps under the van and he would even like to go inside. It wouldn't be the first time a stray dog has gone out with us, or made eyes at us to come with us. But this time it's different. I don't know why, but a wave of emotion comes over me, I ask Sevan if the dog can enter the van and even if we can take him, because he doesn't seem to want go away. But, it seems unthinkable to us to be able to take a dog.

 

Why this ? A dog in the van, what does that mean? Do we want to have this responsibility? We would have to go vaccinate him, we would have to do this and that, we are a little afraid of all the impact he could have on our trip so we let him go.

 

Indeed, having a dog means having to make concessions and who knows what else. We have to think about it. We need time, but we don't really have it. One thing is for sure, I am extremely sad, to a point where I cannot explain. Sevan, a little destabilized to see me like this, decides to go in search of Pépère, but in vain. We can't find it.

The upheaval continued

The next day, we go back to looking for him. We spend the whole day there, but we don't see it... Is it fate that must be like this? I don't think so, we decide to go back one last time to the ski resort lifts. And who knows that we see far away? It's Pepe! When he sees us coming, he recognizes us right away. He starts running towards us and jumps on top of us. We hold him tight to us. 

 

We decide to observe the surroundings to try to understand where it comes from. In front of us, there is a house where he seems to find food and even seems to be able to sleep there. So we're going to ring to find out. The owner explains to us that it is not his dog, but that indeed he feeds him and that he often sleeps here, in the doghouse in front of his house.

 

We can clearly see that this dog has his friends here and that he is well here. Would he really be happy with us or would he prefer to stay here? Lots of questions are swirling around in our heads and we don't know what to think.

 

To be sure to make the right decision, both for him and for us, we decide to spend time together here near his home. We are taking advantage of this time to find out about the adoption procedures and the paperwork to be completed. We get lots of advice and help from great people. Some that we don't know yet.

DSC_4291.jpg
photo numéro ....4.jpg

Decision

Well, we still have to make a decision and we can't! If only we could get a clear message. Could the universe help us make our decision?

 

Imagine that we had a clear message. The morning of our departure, Pépère leaves and we do not expect to see him again. But, when we get back on the road, who is it that we see sitting in front of the van and who looks at us as if to say to us: “I won’t let you leave without me! As we open the driver's cab door, Pépère confirms what we've already understood by jumping on the bench seat between the two of us.

 

So this is where the threesome adventure begins, on the way my dog. We will no longer call him Pépère as we nicknamed him during these few days, but Lucky. We do all the adoption procedures in Kotor, including giving him a chip and vaccinating him. In the end, it's not so rocket science.

 

Our meeting with this dog is by far the most beautiful thing that happened to us during our first months of travel.

We are nevertheless surprised that, with the help of some European countries, the city has been largely rebuilt. Its center is touristy, but is still very lively with locals. We were able to spend some time in front of the biggest mosque in the city in full prayer, it was really very beautiful. We also discovered the surroundings of the city and some of its sites of interest, in particular the Sarajevo tunnel. The latter was dug under the city's airport during its siege and was its only physical link to the rest of the country.

Lucky and the snow

We would like to go on a ski trip with Lucky again and take him again to have fun on the snowy mountains, which he loves so much.

 

On the way to the Komovi natural park, we have to turn around because of the amount of snow that has fallen there. We therefore decide to head towards this same natural park, but on the other side via Kolasin, a famous ski resort in the country. We aim to climb Mount Bavan which is located in a mountain range comprising some of the highest peaks in the country. Unfortunately, we did not take two factors into account: the closed access road, which greatly prolongs the ski outing and the beautiful layer of powder that we love, but which tires Lucky a lot. 

 

Despite all this, we feel enormous joy to see our loulou back in his element. He's rolling around in the snow and having a blast. When he is in contact with snow, he reacts differently, he feels at home.

 

We don't want to end on this note. So we go back to the map in search of another exit…

photo numéro 5.jpg
photo numéro 6.jpg

Savina Greda

We change valley to go to Gornje Lipovo where we can try a more possible outing in altitude and kilometers in these snow conditions.

 

To our surprise, the snow has already settled down, which will be easier for Lucky. We nevertheless decide to keep him on a leash for the start of the climb, because we have noticed that he gets tired too quickly to trudge and run in all directions and that he has no more energy at the time of the descent. .

 

We arrive at the top of Savina Gerda, where Lucky Lucky has been waiting for us for a while. A magnificent panorama of all the mountain ranges that surround us is offered to us!

Rest

It's when we get off that we have a good laugh. Our Pépère, like a lynx, is running after us and wants to stay ahead at all costs. On skis and also on mountain bikes, he often ends up getting tired, but to save him, we tried to carry him on our shoulders and he likes that. As a result, everyone is happy.

4b9c0706-85b5-4fba-b44e-9fa4676399ae_8903ee0d-f39b-4f1a-8310-45345b97733d.jpg

Life in the van, at 3

Our life together begins rather well. We live at a different pace, we walk around more than if we were just the two of us. We fight a bit to try to learn the recall Lucky which makes it clear to us that he is an independent dog. We'll see who has the last word!

 

Apart from this small disagreement, he is a great dog and a little hyperactive, like us. He needs to move. He likes to accompany us on skis and on mountain bikes. When he's in the van, he sleeps through the night and is clean. With us, he is tender and very expressive.

 

In the end, we can no longer imagine moving forward in our journey without him. He took his place in our van and an even bigger place in our hearts!

bottom of page

top of page
DSC_4335.jpg

MONTENEGRO

"Les plus belles rencontres sont toujours inattendues."

Simon Lafage

Une fois arrivés au Monténégro, nous sommes tombés sous le charme du pays, que ça soit au niveau du paysage ou des rencontres que nous y avons faites. Évidemment, nous n’allions pas dire le contraire, étant donné l’histoire que nous allons vivre ici. Une chose est sûre, le Monténégro restera gravé dans nos mémoires à tout jamais.

photo numéro 1.jpg

L’ imprévu

Comme vous le saviez déjà, nous avons aménagé et pensé notre van autour du sport pour découvrir le monde au travers de nos passions. Nous n’avions jamais imaginé que le van puisse recevoir un autre voyageur que nous. Ce n’était en tout cas ni notre projet ni notre intention.

 

Soyons honnêtes, s’il n’y a pas un peu d’imprévu dans nos vies, ce serait un peu ennuyant, non? La routine du voyage nous rattrapant gentiment, il était peut-être temps pour nous de chambouler un peu tout cela.

 

La vie est faite de surprises et d’inattendu, heureusement d’ailleurs !

La rencontre

Cette rencontre débute proche de la station de ski de Zablajk. Les montagnes enneigées nous font de l’oeil et nous n’avons qu’une envie : les gravir à ski. Nous partons donc, un peu avant le lever de soleil, avec comme objectif de gravir le Vrh Šljemena avec ses 2455 m. Au pied de la montagne, sur l’un de ses flancs, nous apercevons au loin un petit chien noir avec une grande forme physique qui crapahute de sommet en sommet en aboyant de « joie ».

 

Ce chien à l’air indépendant, par moments, il vient vers nous et d’autres fois nous le voyons repartir pourchasser des bêtes. On dirait malgré tout qu’il a trouvé ses compagnons pour la journée. Il nous donne l’impression de vouloir rester à nos côtés et cette envie est réciproque. Nous décidons de le nommer Pépère. C’est avec lui que nous arrivons en haut du sommet et que nous contemplons le paysage, qu’il a l’air d’ailleurs d’adorer regarder.

 

Sevan et moi, nous nous sommes rencontrés à ski en haut du Pic Chaussy, une montagne en Suisse. Nous continuons sur la même lancée, avec Pépère en haut du Vrh Šljemena au Monténégro. On ne sait pas exactement ce qui se passe sur ces montagnes, mais on y fait d’incroyables rencontres, ça, c’est certain.

photo numéro 3.jpg

Le chamboulement

Nous redescendons à ski jusqu’au van et Pépère à l’air de vouloir nous suivre. Pendant que nous rangeons nos affaires, il prend ses aises.Il dort sous le van et il voudrait même rentrer à l’intérieur. Ça ne serait pas la première fois qu’un chien errant fait une sortie avec nous, ou qu’il nous fait les yeux doux pour venir avec nous. Mais, cette fois-ci, c’est différent. Je ne sais pas pourquoi, mais une vague d’émotion vient m’envahir, je demande à Sevan si le chien peut entrer dans le van et même si nous pouvons le prendre, parce qu’il n’a pas l’air de vouloir s’en aller. Mais, il nous semble impensable de pouvoir prendre un chien.

 

Pourquoi ça ? Un chien dans le van qu'est ce que ça implique ? Voulons-nous avoir cette responsabilité ? Il faudrait aller le vacciner, il faudrait ci et ça, nous avons un peu peur de tout l’impact qu’il pourrait avoir sur notre voyage alors, nous le laissons s’en aller.

 

En effet, avoir un chien, c’est devoir faire des concessions et qui sait quoi d’autre encore. Nous devons y réfléchir. Nous avons besoin de temps, mais nous n’en avons pas vraiment. Une chose est sûre, je suis extrêmement triste, à un point où je ne peux pas expliquer. Sevan un peu déstabilisé de me voir ainsi, décide d’aller à la recherche de Pépère, mais en vain. Nous ne le retrouvons pas.

Le chamboulement suite

Le lendemain, nous nous remettons à sa recherche. Nous y passons toute la journée, mais nous ne le voyons pas… Est-ce le destin qui doit être ainsi ? Je ne crois pas, nous décidons de repasser une dernière fois au pied des remontées de la station de ski. Et qui sait que nous voyons au loin ? C’est Pépère ! Quand il nous voit arriver, il nous reconnaît tout de suite. Il se met à courir vers nous et nous saute de dessus. Nous le serrons fort contre nous. 

 

Nous décidons d’observer les alentours pour essayer de comprendre d’où il vient. En face de nous, il y a une maison où il semble trouver de la nourriture et semble même pouvoir y dormir. Nous allons donc sonner pour nous renseigner. Le propriétaire nous explique que ça n’est pas son chien, mais qu’en effet il le nourrit et qu’il dort souvent ici, dans la niche devant sa maison.

 

Nous voyons bien que ce chien a ses copains ici et qu’il est bien ici. Serait-il vraiment heureux à nos côtés ou préférait-il rester ici ? Plein de questions se chamboulent dans nos têtes et nous ne savons pas quoi penser.

 

Pour être sûrs de prendre la bonne décision, autant pour lui que pour nous, nous décidons de passer du temps ensemble ici près de chez lui. Nous profitons de ce temps pour nous renseigner pour les démarches d’adoption et pour les paperasses à remplir. Nous recevons pleins de conseils et d’aide de superbes personnes. Certaine que nous ne connaissons d’ailleurs pas encore.

DSC_4291.jpg
photo numéro ....4.jpg

La décision

Bon, il nous reste à prendre une décision et nous n’y arrivons pas ! Si seulement nous pouvions recevoir un message clair. L’univers pourrait-il nous aider à prendre notre décision ?

 

Figurez-vous que nous en avons eu un de message clair. Le matin de notre départ, Pépère s’en va et nous ne pensons pas le revoir. Mais, au moment de reprendre la route, qui c’est que nous voyons assis devant le van et qui nous regarde comme pour nous dire : « Je ne vous laisserais pas partir sans moi ! » Au moment d’ouvrir la porte de la cabine de conduite, Pépère nous confirme ce que nous avons déjà compris en sautant sur la banquette entre nous deux.

 

C’est donc là que l’aventure à trois commence, en route mon chien. Nous l’appellerons plus Pépère comme nous l’avons surnommé pendant ces quelques jours, mais Lucky. Nous faisons toutes les démarches d’adoption à Kotor notamment lui poser une puce et le vacciner. Finalement, ça n’est pas si sorcier.

 

Notre rencontre avec ce chien est de loin la plus belle chose qui nous est arrivée durant nos premiers mois de voyage.

Nous sommes néanmoins surpris que, avec l'aide de certains pays d'Europe, la ville a été en très grande partie reconstruite. Son centre est touristique, mais reste tout de même très animé par les locaux. Nous avons pu passé un peut de temps devant la plus grande mosquée de la ville en pleine prière, c’était vraiment très beau. Nous avons également découvert les alentours de la ville et quelques-uns de ses sites d'intérêt notamment le tunnel de Sarajevo. Ce dernier a été creusé sous l'aéroport de la ville pendant son siège et était son seul lien physique avec le reste du pays.

Lucky et la neige

Nous aimerions refaire une sortie à ski avec Lucky et l’emmener à nouveau s’amuser sur les montagnes enneigées, qu’il aime tant.

 

En route pour le parc naturel de Komovi, nous devons faire demi-tour à cause de la quantité de neige qui y est tombée. Nous décidons donc de nous diriger vers ce même parc naturel, mais par l’autre côté en passant par Kolasin, une station de ski réputée du pays. Nous visons de gravir le mont Bavan qui est situé dans une chaîne de montagnes comprenant parmi les plus hauts sommets du pays. Malheureusement, nous n'avons pas pris deux facteurs en compte : la route d'accès fermée, ce qui nous prolonge fortement la sortie à ski et la belle couche de poudre que nous adorons, mais qui fatigue beaucoup Lucky. 

 

Malgré tout cela, nous ressentons une joie énorme à revoir notre loulou dans son élément. Il se roule dans la neige et s’amuser comme un fou. Lorsqu’il est en contact avec de la neige, il réagit différemment, il se sent chez lui.

 

Nous n’avons pas envie de finir sur cette note. Nous reprenons donc la carte à la recherche d’une autre sortie…

photo numéro 5.jpg
photo numéro 6.jpg

Savina Greda

Nous changeons de vallée pour nous rendre vers Gornje Lipovo où nous pourrons tenter une sortie plus envisageable niveau dénivelé et kilomètres dans ces conditions d’enneigement.

 

À notre plus grande surprise, la neige s’est déjà bien tassée, ce qui sera plus simple pour Lucky. Nous décidons néanmoins de le tenir en laisse pour le début de la montée, car nous avons constaté qu’il se fatigue trop vite à crapahuter et courir dans tous les sens et qu’il n’a plus d’énergie au moment de la descente.

 

Nous arrivons au sommet de Savina Gerda, où Lucky Lucky nous attend depuis un petit moment. Un panorama magnifique sur toutes les chaînes de montagnes qui nous entourent s’y offre à nous !

Le repos

C’est au moment de descendre que nous rigolons bien. Notre Pépère tel d’un lynx nous court après et veut à tout prix rester le devant. À ski et aussi à VTT, il finit souvent par se fatiguer, mais pour l’économiser, nous avons essayé de le porter sur nos épaules et il aime bien ça. Résultat, tout le monde est content.

4b9c0706-85b5-4fba-b44e-9fa4676399ae_8903ee0d-f39b-4f1a-8310-45345b97733d.jpg

La vie dans le van, à 3

Notre vie à trois commence plutôt bien. Nous vivons à un autre rythme, nous nous promenons plus que si nous étions justes tous les deux. Nous nous bagarrons un peu pour tenter d’apprendre le rappel Lucky qui nous fait bien comprendre qu’il est un chien indépendant. On verra bien qui aura le dernier mot !

 

En dehors de ce petit désaccord, c’est un chien génial et un peu hyper actif, comme nous. Il a besoin de bouger. Il aime nous accompagner à ski et à VTT. Quand il est dans le van, il fait des nuits complètes et est propre. Avec nous, il est tendre et très expressif.

 

Au final, nous n’imaginons plus avancer dans notre voyage sans lui. Il a pris sa petite place dans notre van et une place encore bien plus grande dans nos coeurs !

bottom of page