top of page
Slovenie Hiver

"You have to travel to learn"

Mark Twain

SLOVENIA

When we arrived in Slovenia, we were surprised by heavy snowfall. Most of the roads, with the exception of those located directly in the open, have not yet been cleared and are therefore closed. However, the fresh snow attracts us and we have only one desire, to launch an assault on the summits!

Slovenie Hiver

The Slovenian mountains

This start of winter is incredible for white gold ravagers like us. We are only at the beginning of December and we have already had the right to several heavy snowfalls.

 

When we arrived in Slovenia, we had only one desire, to ski the Trigla, this Slovenian symbol that can be found everywhere, whether on storefronts, on the country's flag or on coins. This peak is the highest mountain in Slovenia (2864 m) and has a characteristic silhouette with its three pyramidal peaks. Unfortunately, the state of the roads would make its ascent extremely laborious and long. We therefore decide to climb other more accessible peaks including Špica V Sedelcih and Korenščica.

Bled and the friendly Slovenes

Unfortunately, we realize quite quickly that the third solar panel has not solved all of our electricity problems. Of course, we can no longer charge our battery with the sun, but in winter the sun is not enough to meet all of our electricity needs. 

 

While waiting to find a solution, we are back at the starting point, or almost, and have to connect our van to the mains to recharge our battery.

 

Nevertheless, in the Bled region, we find another solution than going to the campsite. A very nice motorhome family provides the parking lot in front of their house to allow people passing through to park there. They also offer electricity, water and internet connection and all this without asking anything in return! And guess what, the members of this family are also sportsmen and practice many sports including mountain biking and ski touring. Gaber, the father of the family, will invite us to join him and his friends for a nice ski outing in the moonlight.

Slovenie Bled Hiver
Slovenie Ljubljana

Ljubljana

Temperatures in the country are rising sharply and melting the snow at high speed. However, there is still a small layer of snow, very wet, which makes any activity complicated. So we decide to head to Croatia faster than we had planned to find warmer temperatures. On the way, we stop successively at Ljubjana and at Predjama castle to make some visits.

 

In the capital, we take the opportunity to treat ourselves to a good meal, stroll through the streets and find a store to buy a pure sin inverter. This device will allow us to recharge our Bluetti while driving. (With a few months back now, in winter, it was the right solution to no longer have to connect our van to the electricity grid to recharge it.)

Predjama Castle

Predjama Castle was built in the 13th century, on the side of a cliff, in a huge cavity, 123 meters above a karstic abyss, in order to make access difficult. It is the largest troglodyte castle still in state in Europe.

Slovenie Chateau de Predjama
bottom of page

top of page
Slovenie Hiver

"Il faut voyager pour apprendre"

Mark Twain

SLOVENIE

A notre arrivée en Slovénie, nous sommes surpris par de grosses chutes de neige. La plupart des routes, à l’exception de celles situées directement dans les pleines, ne sont pas encore déblayées et sont donc fermées. Cependant, la neige fraiche nous attire et nous n’avons qu’une envie, nous lancer à l’assaut des sommets!

Slovenie Hiver

Les montagnes Slovène

Ce début d’hiver est incroyable pour les ravages d’or blanc comme nous. Nous ne sommes qu’au début du mois de décembre et nous avons déjà eu le droit à plusieurs grosses chutes de neige.

 

En arrivant en Slovénie, nous n’avions qu’une envie, skier le Trigla ce symbole slovène que l’on retrouve partout que ce soit sur les devantures des magasins, sur le drapeau du pays ou encore sur les pièces de monnaie. Ce sommet est la plus haute montagne de Slovénie (2864 m) et a une silhouette caractéristique avec ses trois sommets pyramidaux. Malheureusement, l’état des routes rendrait son ascension extrêmement laborieuse et longue. Nous nous décidons donc à gravir d’autres sommets plus accessibles dont le Špica V Sedelcih et le Korenščica.

Bled et les sympathiques Slovènes

Malheureusement, nous nous rendons compte assez vite que le troisième panneau solaire n’a pas réglé l’ensemble de nos soucis d’électricité. Certes, nous pouvons plus charger notre batterie avec le soleil, mais l’hiver le soleil n’est pas suffisant pour répondre à l’ensemble de nos besoins en électricité. 

 

En attendant de trouver une solution, nous sommes de retour au point de départ, ou presque, et devons brancher notre van au secteur pour recharger notre batterie.

 

Néanmoins, dans la région de Bled, nous trouvons une autre solution que d’aller au camping. Une très gentille famille de camping caristes met à disposition le parking devant leur maison pour permettre aux gens de passage de s’y parque. Ils offrent également un raccordement électrique, de l’eau et une connexion internet et tout cela sans rien demander en échange! Et devinez quoi, les membres de cette famille sont aussi des sportifs et pratique de nombreux sports notamment le VTT et le ski de randonnée. Gaber, le père de la famille, nous proposera d’ailleurs de nous joindre à lui et ses amis pour une belle sortie à ski au clair de lune.

Slovenie Bled Hiver
Slovenie Ljubljana

Ljubljana

Les températures dans le pays remontent en flèches et font fondre la neige à vitesse grand V. Il reste cependant une petite couche de neige, bien mouillée, qui rend toute activité compliquée. Nous décidons donc de nous diriger vers la Croatie plus vite que nous ne l’avions prévu pour retrouver des températures plus clémentes. En chemin, nous nous arrêtons successivement à Ljubjana et au château de Predjama pour faire quelques visites.

 

Dans la capitale, nous profitons de l’occasion pour nous offrir un bon repas, flâner dans les rues et trouver un magasin pour acheter un onduleur pur sin. Cet appareil nous permettra de recharger notre Bluetti en roulant. (Avec quelques mois de recule maintenant, en hiver, c’était la bonne solution pour ne plus avoir à connecter notre van au réseau d’électricité pour le recharger.)

Château de Predjama

Le château de Predjama a été édifié au xiiie siècle, à flanc de falaise, dans une énorme cavité, à 123 mètres au-dessus d’un gouffre karstique, afin de rendre son accès difficile. Il constitue le plus grand château troglodyte encore en état d’Europe.

Slovenie Chateau de Predjama
bottom of page